TT: Big News!

In case anybody missed yesterday’s little, ah, announcement. . . We’re gonna have another baby!!!

Lilypie

How am I doing?  Thank you for asking.  I’m doing OK.  “Only 220 days to go!”  Yikes!

So far it’s been a typical (for me) pregnancy. . . morning, noon, and night sickness (nausea only, thankfully!); extra trips to the bathroom; sleeping lighter and waking more often; needing naps; finding it hard to do anything that requires much brain power or energy (such as, ah, blogging. . . wow, it’s hard to post these days!)

And yet. . . it’s different, too.   This is my first summer-starting pregnancy; it’s warm and bright. (I’ve always started the pregnancy in the winter when it is cold and dreary and dark and it takes a toll on my mood and energy level.)  I’m finding that I don’t need to nap every day.  Plus, the kids are older this time and more helpful with the housework.

Probably the hardest thing to deal with right now is food.  It’s become a love-hate obsession.  I am hungry, literally, every two hours!  But nothing sounds good to me.  But I have to eat, or I’ll be sick.  But I don’t want ANYTHING in the fridge or cupboard.  (Our food budget is shot!)  Sometimes I can find something that sounds good. . . and buy three boxes . . . and then I can’t stand it any more!  And I can’t count the times I’ve made dinner, then wanted none of it.  I don’t like food any more.  It’s gonna be a long seven more months!

And did I mention that I don’t even want to eat chocolate?!?!?!?!?! Yeah, it’s that serious!

I absolutely loved the kids’ reactions:

  • Calf #3 stared at us.  (She’s too young to understand what’s going on.)
  • Calf #2 jumped up and down, clapping his hands!
  • Calf #1 stared at us a few moments,then asked, “Does this mean you have a baby in your tummy?”  We said “Yes” (later we explained more of the anatomical specifics) and he grinned really widely!

And whenever we find ourselves out in public, whether at the grocery store or at the dentist’s office, the boys are quick to say, “We’re gonna have another baby!”  They are so excited, it is so sweet!

Emotionally, I’m very excited too.  Another baby!  What a joyful time!  But at the same time–I’m also pretty nervous about this.  Pregnancy isn’t fun, ya know?  And life with a newborn is difficult, especially with other children who need mama’s attention.

But we are thankful, ever so thankful, for this opportunity!  I know so many who cannot conceive, or for other reasons cannot have a baby, and it is heart breaking for them.  And yet here I am, growing another little one!  Yes, it’s exhausting work and no, I don’t feel well.  But this will pass soon.  (At least, that’s what I keep telling myself!)  And to have children who are excited to welcome another baby into our family. . . wow, words just fail me.  I know this is a sweet, special thing.  Wow, are we ever blessed! Thank You, LORD!

This month we’re linking our Thankful Thursday posts over at Iris’ blog.  See ya there!

We are thankful, ever so thankful, for this opportunity!  I know so many who cannot conceive, or for other reasons cannot have a baby, and it is heart breaking for them.  And yet here I am, growing another little one.  Wow, are we blessed!

14 Responses to “TT: Big News!”

  1. Denise Says:

    Congrats sweetie, may God watch over every minute of your pregnancy.

  2. Mum-me Says:

    I’m excited for you too! It is hard work and I totally agree that being pregnant is no fun, but it’s all worth it !

    Hope your nausea passes pretty soon. Try eating tuna or eggs – great brain building food.

  3. Nancy Says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  4. Debbie Says:

    Congratulations on your pregnancy. I loved reading about your children’s responses. May all go well and may the Lord bless you and keep you.

  5. Karen Says:

    Congratulations!!! I’ve said a prayer for your pregnancy and that you’ll find some foods that you’ll enjoy and like eating.

    Take care,
    Karen

  6. heidi Says:

    Congratulations!!!!!

  7. Lisa Says:

    Congratulations!

  8. Christabelle Says:

    Congrats! I am very happy for you guys!

  9. debi b Says:

    Oh boy! I remember those not so fun things about pregnancy. UGH! So right that it’s worth it, but UGH!

    Hope you find something you can eat & enjoy. (my first pregnancy ALL I ate for months was peanut butter on a toasted bagel with a glass of milk. LOL)

  10. ckb Says:

    congrats!

  11. BPS: Sippy Cup « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] Comments debi b on TT: Big News!Christabelle on TT: Big News!Cora on TT: Big News!Lisa on TT: Big News!heidi on TT: […]

  12. Tiaras & Tantrums Says:

    I am so happy for you , as you know. (still a bit jealous, but in a good way) . . . crackers, crackers and more crackers!!! Just try to rest when you can – and no more cutting the grass for 4 hours girlie!

  13. Grace Alone… » Blog Archive » Thankful Thursday ~ Hope Says:

    […] debi @ Who Says 8 is Enough?11. Laurie @ Women Taking a Stand12. Chris 13. Denise14. JesuLalaine15. purple moose16. It Feels Like Chaos17. Pia18. Grace of A walk to remember 19. PASTOR […]


Leave a comment