TT: Jumping on the band wagie

Saturday is going to be a special day. A sad, but special, day.

Last Thursday I mentioned Tuesday, a little girl who had been fighting neuroblastoma for several months.  Sadly, on Friday, she ended her struggle with the cancer.  Her family, relatives, and many, many friends are setting aside Saturday, February 7, to celebrate her life.  At 10:45 they will have a bike and wagon parade; one of Tuesday’s favorite things was “wagie rides.”

It will be in Colorado.  I’m so, so sad that we can’t go.

Today, I am thankful for Eudea-Mamia and Lee the MWOB Queen, two special bloggers who have organized a virtual “Wagie Ride” Parade.  It is a way for those who cannot be in Colorado to celebrate with Tuesday’s family.  You can check their websites and participate. . . please, join us!  Whether you share a wagon ride with a small relative, or a sled run with a sibling, or ride your bike by yourself or with friends, you are welcome.

I am also thankful that Tuesday’s family has been surrounded by family and friends, supported and prayed over and loved.  I am thankful that they will continue to be lifted up in prayer.

Today we started to make Valentine cards for our loved ones.  As I talked with my sons about what we were doing, I suggested making cards for specific people.  Like a sick boy for whom we’ve been praying.  I asked the boys who else could use a card.

Firstborn calf said, without batting an eye, “Tuesday’s sister and brothers.”  And I tried not to cry.  I am thankful for children who are sweet and thoughtful.  The message he wrote on his card to “Baby Tuesday’s family” was touching and caring in his six-year-old way.  I had worried how her death would affect the boys.  The Bull and I have both lost our fathers in the past couple of years and the boys miss their Grandpas.  I am thankful that in our time of need we were surrounded by family and friends, supported and prayed over and loved.  Now we are able to support, pray over, and love others too.

See ya Saturday in cyberspace.

8 Responses to “TT: Jumping on the band wagie”

  1. Denise Says:

    I am very sorry for the loss of dear Tuesday, praying for the family.

  2. Grammy Says:

    Happy thankful Thursday. I am glad you have so much to be thankful for. Family and friends are # 1 blessings.

  3. Laurie Ann Says:

    Happy Thankful Thursday to you. I will keep this family in my prayers. What a sweet way to honor her.

  4. June Says:

    I lost a daughter. I think this is a healing way to remember
    Tuesday. Expect some tears along with joy.
    Happy TT June

  5. heidi Says:

    Very sweet of firstborn calf to think of them.

  6. Marsha Says:

    What a precious way to commerate Tuesday’s life. I’m reminded of the little children’s poem called “Monday’s Child.” “Tuesdays child is full of grace.” Oh my, is she ever experiencing her new life full of grace. May the God of all comfort fill her family full of grace.

  7. Grace Alone… » Blog Archive » Thankful Thursday ~ Cha..Cha..Changes Says:

    […] Life at Home21. Jennifer@Through The Storms of Life22. Lynne(My First TT23. Come Here Little Bug24. purple moose 25. Miriam Pauline26. lupusurvivor27. Carmel28. micey29. jennifer’s joyride30. Melonie @ […]

  8. Alicia Says:

    That is a hard way to learn a beautiful lesson – one that they will need to draw from many times throughout life. Kudos to mama for speaking with them about it.


Leave a comment