Thankful for Spiders

It was late, much past bedtime. I’d been searching for something encouraging I’d read on a blog about children with medical (and other) special needs–because this is my life now–and coming up empty handed. I’d been putting off Calf #6 as she asked over and over, “Bob Looley mama?” (Bob and Larry; her name for Veggie Tales videos.) “No baby girl, we’re going to bed,” I said. Over and over.

But I wanted to go to bed. I’d woken up 2 hours too early that morning to her fussing. I didn’t want to wait for a 30 minute video. Instead I sang her a Silly Song. But she wanted to watch her movie. Now, late for bed and very, very tired, I just wanted to change her diaper, put her jammies on her, and go to bed.

The toddler, of course, was not having any of this. Deprived of her bedtime ritual of a movie and a snack, she was melting down. Why shouldn’t she? I ruined her schedule with my inattention to the time. She’d had horrible tantrums in April and May, but these had calmed down in June. Was this tantrum an escalation of the toddler years or because I wasn’t paying attention to her? Not that it mattered when your toddler has thrown herself on the bathroom floor and is kicking, screaming, flailing, rotating on her back, not wanting to be held or snuggled or comforted to calmness.

After I picked her up (receiving blows to face and legs and stomach) I noticed something moving. Black, small, and fast. A spider! I must admit to emitting a bit of a squeak when it quickly moved towards me.

“Look, sweetie, there’s a spider!” I said. I hadn’t shown her this kind of thing before. Her screaming, flailing, and kicking stopped immediately. Fastest. De-escalator. Ever. I put her down on the rug so she could see it.

Quickly, though, I learned that she wasn’t the type to be fascinated by bugs. She backed away quickly from the spider and gave a shriek. I think, though, that my interest in the bug made her more interested in watching, albeit from a distance.

The thing moved speedily towards the wall. I grabbed a shoe and, well, let’s just say I slowed the critter down. 😉 Now it was on the bathroom rug and attempting to crawl into hiding. Calf #6 was on the other end of the bathroom rug showing signs of wanting to not be on the rug because of this wiggling, half-squashed bug. I used the shoe to sweep him off the rug and onto the floor, where we watched it for another couple of seconds.

Next thing I know, she grabbed the shoe to squish it. You go, girl! She was quite proud of herself. I grabbed a bit of TP and finished the job and the spider was history.

How empowering was that? We went from a full-blown terrible tantrum (and trust me, she’s had a bunch–it’s not just the terrible 2’s, it’s the terrible 2’s in medical hell!), to buggy freak-out, to a search and destroy mission in just under a minute.

And another few minutes after that, wearing a fresh diaper and her favorite pink-and-white striped monkey footie jammies, we were headed happily to bed.

Leave a Reply

