2014: The Year of Loss

And for once, I’m not talking about death.

(Though my heart aches for my aunt and cousins who lost their husband /father just before Christmas.)

No, I’m talking about weight. 2014 for me was a great year on the health side of things!

Unfortunately, I didn’t start out the year intending to lose 34 pounds, so I don’t have really good before-and-after pictures. But these will give you a general idea.

February:

P02-08-14_13-42[1]

 

December:

IMG_4722

(Oh yes, 2014 was the year that I bleached my hair and dyed it purple after wanting to have purple hair for decades!)

I’m still amazed that I lost so much weight, because I wasn’t really trying to lose it. I wasn’t following a strict diet, or denying myself food, or obnoxious exercise regimen anything of that nature. It wasn’t complicated at all and I don’t feel like it’s been a huge sacrifice like my weight loss after my 2nd child. Then, I spent lots of time feeling hungry and being grumpy–I still lost weight, but it wasn’t pleasant.

To be honest, the weight loss started when I had some nasty cold in December 2013/ January 2014. I was miserable with a horrible cough and had no appetite. I lost about 5 pounds that week. I thought, “wouldn’t it be neat if it didn’t come back!” And I didn’t!

I ate differently. I didn’t over eat; I stopped eating when I was satisfied, not when my stomach was stuffed. I didn’t eat when I wasn’t hungry (like when I was sad or bored.) I stopped eating after 8 pm (sometimes earlier, if it worked into the schedule; sometimes, though, dinner has to be late!) I started eating more veggies than I used to. I now eat WAY less candy than I used to. Candy was one of my big weaknesses. I have come to realize that sometimes I wasn’t even tasting or enjoying it, I was just devouring it, almost like it was a contest to eat as much as I could.

After I had lost a dozen pounds or so, nothing happened for almost a month. That was disappointing. At that point I added a little milk to my diet and the pounds started to go again.

I still ate meat, butter, carbs. Even ice cream, candy, other junk food. But now I’m content to have a smaller amount of the junk–but strangely enough, I think that I enjoy it more.

Now, this massive weight loss could have to do with the fact that I’m still breastfeeding (my littlest just had her 2nd birthday!) but honestly, I never lost weight with breastfeeding in the past. Despite exclusive breastfeeding for the first 6 months and breastfeeding till the baby was about 2 years old.

Of course, in the past, I’ve been pregnant by the time my baby was 2. And I’m not now, hmmm. . . But I’ve been losing weight all year so that has no bearing on it.

It’s hard to believe that I’ve lost so much. I’m wondering if it will continue; I still have about 40+ more pounds to go to be at a good weight for my height and body frame. And I’m sure that if (when?) I get to an ideal weight I’ll still have these stretch marks, and probably the extra flab in the belly too.

But I’m choosing now to celebrate how far I’ve come, rather than how incredibly far I have to go still.

 

(Edited to add:)

My brain isn’t totally plugged in these days. How could I forget the exercise part of this weight loss???

Aside from chasing kids, jumping to conclusions, and racing against the clock to get the kids to activities on time, I do get some real exercise. Several days a week I take a fast walk around the neighborhood. I can do something like a mile and a quarter in about 20 minutes. In the early fall, I was walking 30 minutes daily, several days a week.

Yes, my time and frequency slow down in the winter. I try to walk before The Bull leaves for work. Winter’s shorter daylight hours make it harder to do this as it’s not light enough to walk till 9 am. And I put ice cleats on my shoes and dress warmly. (And, a bonus trick: I don’t check the temperature before leaving. Otherwise I’ll see the mercury hovering around the zero and decide to skip the walk.)

2 Responses to “2014: The Year of Loss”

  1. NTMoMo Says:

    Look at you! And look at your blog! New pics for everyone?
    Congrats on the weight loss! You look great 🙂

  2. Carol G Says:

    You look really good. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

