1000G: Chapter 8

This chapter . . . oh this chapter!! Wow! It was good!! Very good.  And Ann says it all so well that I think I’ll just quote her a few times.  🙂

Last summer was terribly difficult for me.  Pregnancy after miscarriage includes a plethora of fears.  What if I lose this baby?  What if something’s wrong with this baby? What if something goes wrong in labor?  Swirling, maddening, choking fears.  Fears that were based on reality and situations that were beyond my control.  Similar to Ann’s situation with farm economy.

While I can’t relate to Ann’s young years, I wonder about my children.  In the past few years we have lost fathers and loved ones have faced cancer.   It seems, sometimes, that it’s been one loss or tragedy after another!  It’s hard to hide this from the children.  One of the kids in particular seems to be more sensitive and takes these losses harder, especially the loss of our baby.  What will he, they, be dealing with when they are adults?

So I know that I need to get a handle on how to deal with fear, and not just for myself.   I need to help my kids learn to handle their fears also.

This was something I wondered about last year:  how to not be afraid.  I know the Bible says over and over, to many different people, “Do not fear!”  But I couldn’t understand how to do this.  I am glad that Ann has given me some ideas.

Significant parts of the chapter:

“Thanks is what builds trust.” (page 150.)

How does that work?

“Count blessings and find out how many of His bridges have already held.” (page 151)

I think I see.  But I’m glad that Ann explained it all out too!

“Trust is the bridge from yesterday to tomorrow, built with planks of thanks.  Remembering frames up gratitude.  Gratitude lays out the planks of trust.  I can walk the planks–from known to unknown–and know: He holds.” (page 151-2)

Ann reminds me that the Israelites often remembered God’s goodness in their thanks, as in Psalm 136.  And maybe this is the next one I should memorize?

But what do we do with the memories?  The hard ones, of course, since the happy memories tend to lend themselves easily to thankfulness.

I’m not quite sure how to get to the memory of Jesus’ death from my painful memories, though, as she mentioned on page 154.

I like the image Ann gives on page 156.  She says that in our dark times God is passing by us.  When our world is shaking, it is because He is moving in our lives.  Many times I’ve wondered if He’s abandoned me in these situations.  I need to see this a little better,  I guess, see Him in the tough times of life.

And yet, there are things in life we must wait to able to see Him.

I’ve heard the story before (page 157-8) of the children after the war going to bed with a piece of bread, how that provided enough of a tangible comfort to them that they would at least have something to eat in the morning.  And as I read this I think, remember:  Doesn’t He tell us to ask for our daily bread?

I need this, oh how badly I need this!

LORD, please give me this daily bread. . . or rather, to acknowledge that You have given me what I need, and to thank You for it!  Help me to see that it will be enough.

I read this chapter once, and listened to it once, and yet I feel that I’ve only scratched the surface of understanding it.  I needed this, oh so badly.  I’m thinking that I need to read it again and again, and let the pieces settle into my mind and heart.  Thank you, Ann, for doing the hard work of eucharisteo and sharing it with us!

One Response to “1000G: Chapter 8”

  1. Alexis Says:

    Whew, I just went on a reading marathon. I went clear back and read about your first husband, his death, and then how you and The Bull got together. What an amazing, and inspiring love story! And an inspiring LIFE story you live… thanks for all you share and how you truly show that God is the reason for your strength. You are blessed indeed!


Leave a Reply

