1000G: Chapter 7

Easily overwhelmed? Yup.

Sensory overload? That’s me!

Lash out at the ones I love (children, hubby) under frustration? Unfortunately, far too often.

Choose anger, Satan’s way, instead of thankfulness, Jesus’ way? (page 126) Well, I’ve never really thought of that before. . . . but yes.  And she’s right, it isn’t better, or more effective, or more expedient.  I know that, and yet it’s what I go to first, time and again.

Eucharisteo always precedes the miracle“–I need to try to remember this on frustrating days rather than giving in to anger.

How can I drive out the “nail of anger” with another nail, a different one?  I’m not sure it is true that “We can only experience one emotion at a time” (page 136) . . . sometimes they seem to hit me two or four at a time. . . but this discipline of thanksgiving instead of complaining is so necessary for me.  How many days does my poor Bull come home to hear my litany of complaints, everything from kid misbehaviors to computer problems to bad news in the mail?

It is a struggle, a wrestle.  Job is right.  Jacob’s night is repeated daily for me.  I want to learn how to see God’s face in everything in life.

Especially my people.

I liked what Angie said about making a list of the common frustrations.  I, too, find that the common and normal and repeated frustrations come up and surprise me, although they should not!  I think that her idea would work for me. Pre-planning, as it were, how to handle the frustrations of life that I know will happen over and over and over.

Oh, here’s the first one that comes to mind: I tell the kids to get ready to go, and they don’t, they continue playing, and many days we end up late. So frustrating.

Now, I could tell them step by step: get coats and boots on, go out and get in the van, sit in your seat, get buckled up.  If I’m not right there to monitor each step, they don’t.  But now there is a new little person who needs to be gotten ready too.  She can’t take care of this by herself.  The older three?  They can.

They might get coats on but forget to get the boots on when something distracts them.

Or they may get all dressed up and forget they are supposed to get in the van-s0 instead I find them on the other side of the house playing!

If they manage to get into the van chances are great that they will forget they are supposed to sit in their seats and the older boy get them buckled up. I will often get the baby ready and get to the van to find them upset because “I want to sit in the front” and “he took my book away” or “she won’t leave me alone.”

And it matters not where we are headed:  a tedious chore or doctor’s office or a fun trip or playdate with friends, the short attention spans and ease of distraction gets us almost every time.

*sigh*

I can’t say that I’m much different, really.

So what do I need to do instead?  What can I possibly find to thank God for in this situation?

* They all have coats, boots, gloves, etc. available
* They are all capable of getting their coats and things on by themselves
* We do have a decent, reliable ride
* We have the ability to go places and do things
* We have places we can go, opportunities
* We have good friends who will understand if we’re a little bit late
* The fact that they are easily distracted shows that they are aware of their surroundings and have many interests

Wow, that is very interesting!!  Somehow typing this all up makes it not seem as dire a situation as I feel when we run into this scenario again and again.

(As I’m typing this all up while nursing Calf #5, she is now spitting up on me. Oh great. Got to change clothes now!!  guess I should consider this my second issue?)

One Response to “1000G: Chapter 7”

  1. Mo Says:

    I have been avoiding reading this book, though I know that I really should. I am so glad that you are working through each chapter and posting your reflections and discoveries – it is both enlightening and comforting, hearing your personal thoughts. I know so much can be drawn up from reading something like this. Anyway, thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

