Song for a Fifth Child

Song for a Fifth Child
by Ruth Hulburt Hamilton

Mother, oh Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing and butter the bread,
Sew on a button and make up a bed.
Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown shiftless as Little Boy Blue
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
(Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo).
The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo.
Look! Aren’t her eyes the most wonderful hue?
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
For children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust go to sleep.
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

 

SHE IS HERE!!!!!

OK, I’m a little slow.  She’s been here for two weeks now.  (and this picture is a week old!)

We are enjoying our newest little one.  I’ve spent much time cuddling, feeding, and loving on our newest little miss.

The kids LOVE her.  They always want to hug and kiss and touch her.  Calf #1 sings “Jesus loves you” to her when she is fussy.  Calf#2 makes her neat things out of paper for when she’s bigger.  Calf #3 wants to hold her all the time.

The Bull got to have some time off work and was able to spend lots of time with his newest daughter (and the rest of us, too!)

Her birth was not fun; somewhat traumatic, but I don’t feel like talking about that now.  (Maybe some day, maybe not.)  But she and I are healthy, and we are enjoying our new little one.  We are so glad she’s here!

Calf #2, I think, put all our thoughts best a week or so ago.  He came in to where #5 and I were resting in my bed and looked at her for a few minutes.  Then he said, quietly as she was sleeping, “God let us have a live baby!”

I could only sigh in agreement.  “Yes, buddy, you are right.  Wasn’t He gracious to us?”  🙂

5 Responses to “Song for a Fifth Child”

  1. heidi Says:

    I am so happy for you guys! (Still! LOL)

  2. barbara Says:

    Praising – and welcome to the youngest moose calf. Love how chunky her little cheeks are – and her “bracelets”, too. That’s what my family call the little rolls at wrists and ankles on newborns. Congratulations to all.

  3. Crystal Theresa Says:

    Congratulations! So I am so late (I’m catching up on my subs). She is absolutely precious. Yes, He is truly gracious.

  4. This Is The End . . . « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] Comments Crystal Theresa on Song for a Fifth Childbarbara on Song for a Fifth Childheidi on Song for a Fifth ChildTiaras on TwoferCatherine […]

  5. Tiaras & Tantrums Says:

    You are BLESSED! She is gorgeous! Many many congrats my friend! I hope you are so enjoying this time right now!!! I sent you a xmas card – but to your old address- not sure if mail is coming to you at new home? Were you at your HOME for xmas or new location? I hope you and your family enjoyed a rich holiday!!


Leave a Reply

