TT WWY: Thankfulness and Praise

Today I’m doing a new thing. I have recently found this blog and it is such a blessing.  I’ve decided to link up with these sweet women to share this grief journey, in the hopes that this “putting one foot in front of the other” will get easier over time.  (Because it seems, some days, that’s all I’m doing.  Just keep on going, keep putting one foot in front of the other, and hope to get through the day.)

Today I am thankful that I found this blog and for Kelly who runs it, for her desire to encourage others who are hurting.  And I am thankful for the chance to praise Him no matter the circumstances, which seemed wonderfully appropriate for combining with the Thankful Thursday meme.

Two of the attributes of the LORD that totally amaze me are onmipresence (which is just a big fancy word that says that He is everywhere at the same time) and omniscience (another big fancy word that means that He knows everything.)

A great explanation for omnipresence is found in I Kings 8.  Solomon has just finished building a lovely temple for the LORD.  The previous chapter details all the work that was done on the Temple, the beauty and expense that was put into every carving and column and candlestick.  It had taken years to build.  In verse 27 (NIV) we read of Solomon’s prayer at the temple’s dedication:  “But will God really dwell on earth? The heavens, even the highest heaven, cannot contain you. How much less this temple I have built!”

One of my favorite examples of His omniscience is recorded in Daniel 2:22.  Two years ago (although it seems about a million years ago) some friends and I worked through the Daniel study by Beth Moore and this was one of the passages I memorized during that time.  (And promptly forgot, I’m afraid!)  Daniel and the other learned men have just been told that they are to be executed, since the king had had a nasty dream that nobody could tell him.  And he didn’t want just the interpretation. . . he wanted them to tell him the dream also!  It was truly an impossible situation.

So when Daniel received this news, he and his buddies Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah got right to work. . . spending the whole night praying.  And the LORD came through for them and told Daniel the dream and its meaning.  Before Daniel goes to talk with the king, he gives this beautiful little song of praise about the LORD:  “He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in darkness, and light dwells with him.

For my part. . .

I thank You, LORD, that You have never left me, even in the darkest days of this journey.  I am so glad that You were there when we lost our little Shelomith, even if we couldn’t see or feel You.  I praise You for Your all knowing ways, that You knew what would be happening with my baby long before I did.  It blows me away that You knew me before I was born, and You knew my baby’s story before it ever started.  I don’t understand why we lost him, but I am grateful that You know what comes next all the way until the end of this story.

(Join Lynn this month to share Thankful Thursday postings.)

(Visit Kelly for more information about Walking With You or Sufficient Grace Ministries.)

5 Responses to “TT WWY: Thankfulness and Praise”

  1. Holly Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. I’m glad you decided to join us in Walking With You. It is amazing that God can be anywhere and know everything. I’m thankful that He does because I don’t ever have to wonder where He is. He’s always right here with me.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I did that same study of Daniel, two years ago too!! Beth Moore is pretty awesome. She’s on fire for God, that’s for sure!

    I find so much comfort in knowing that God has the final say. That He knew from the beginning of time what was going to be placed in our lives. Thank you for sharing the story of your precious Shelomith. God Bless.

  3. Lynn Says:

    “He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in darkness, and light dwells with him.“

    Oh Amen… Amen… Hugging you tight this morning. Love you Lynn

  4. Kelly @ The Beauty of Sufficient Grace Says:

    Thank you for joining us on Walking With You, and for your willing heart to praise God, no matter what the circumstances. I’m so sorry for the loss of your precious, Shelomith. Thank you for reminding us that He never leaves us…

    Praying God’s continued comfort and sufficient grace for you and your family…

  5. MM: January 18 « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] memorize 426~A friend referring to Solomon’s prayer dedicating the Temple. . . a reminder of thoughts from before 427~Panda black licorice 428~Lunch with friends 429~Purple-ish tea light candles 430~Catching up on […]


Leave a Reply

