MPM: December 13

meal plan monday button

It’s another week of menus, another week of meals.

(Sounds like a song, doesn’t it? Can you just see it.  My life as a musical.)

(Never mind.)

Monday:  Teriyaki chicken (chicken with teriyaki sauce poured over, marinated, baked) with a rice side dish and random veggies.

Tuesday:   Bratwurst, chopped cabbage, and diced potatoes cooked all day in the Crock*Pot.

Wednesday:  Dinner @ church.

Thursday:  Spaghetti, garlic bread, veggies.

Friday, Kids’ night:  Breakfast for dinner: chocolate chip bubble biscuits, fruit, eggs.

Saturday:  Left Overs.

Sunday:  Chicken pot pie.  (Calf #2 has been asking if it really is possible to make a pie out of a chicken, like in the movie  Chicken Run. . . I guess I’ll show him how it’s really done!)

Org Junkie’s got some other recipes and meal ideas and organizing tips, go see her!

9 Responses to “MPM: December 13”

  1. sheila Says:

    I’d really like to have your brat in a crock recipe. Can you email me or post it? Thanks!

  2. Rita Says:

    My husband loves bratwurst but I’ve never tried it. The teriyaki chicken sounds good.

  3. purplemoose Says:

    It’s kind of an experiment, Sheila. I’ll put potatoes (cut in quarters) in the bottom of the crock pot, then the bratwurst (sliced) on top, then the cabbage (shredded) over all. I think it should have some liquid, but not much. Say 1/2 to 1 cup? Cook it on low all day. (But maybe I should only put the cabbage on after a few hours?)

    I’ve done this before with sauerkraut, and it works nicely. This time, though, I have some cabbage that needs to be used. We’ll just see how it works!

  4. sheila Says:

    My gosh, that sounds tasty. Are the brats browned first? I would say cabbage in 1/2 way through. But then again, I’m not that great of a cook! lol. I’ll check the follow comments box on your comment section so that if you respond to the brat/browning part, I can find it! This is exciting! (how sad is that? lol)

  5. sheila Says:

    opps, forgot the subscribe to follow up comments, lol Sorry! Now I did!

  6. Rona Says:

    I love Spaghetti. It’s so affordable, quick and a family favorite.

    You have a terrific menu planned.

  7. purplemoose Says:

    I usually just throw everything in as is, no browning. What does that do to the meat? I’m just busy lazy I guess. 😉

  8. sheila Says:

    I would think that browning would lock in the juices. But maybe not necessary in the crock. I mean…you can cook chicken in there and it’s fine. But then again, if you make a pot roast, you brown it. lol. Well, I guess whatever, it’s not going to hurt. Either way, lol. This has been fun, thanks! 🙂

  9. purplemoose Says:

    Hmm, that does seem like something that would be helpful in a roast. Thanks for the tip, I didn’t know about that!


Leave a Reply

