MM: December 7

holy experience

When I started doing my gratitude journal, I thought it would be a good goal to list 1,000 gifts before our baby would have been born.  That’s the middle to end of March.  If my estimations are correct, I’d need to list 8.2 gifts each day to get to 1,000 by March 31.  I am not sure that’s really reasonable.  Yes, I could surely list all sorts of silly things just to get the numbers. . .  but I want to be thoughtful, mindful of what I’m listing.

Anyway, I’m going to give it a shot.  Perhaps this will be just what I need for this looooong winter.

29~MUSIC!
30~ That my three little amigos consider a trip to the library to be a grand day out
31~ sliced mushrooms sauteed with garlic for a simple soup
32~The Bull made our contribution to the Thanksgiving gathering: mashed potatoes!
33~ The few inches of new snow and the moosey visitors who trekked through the yard
34~ The chance to spend a fun weekend with the family
35~To be home safe and sound after a busy weekend
36~Good friends
37~Kids who travel well
38~Safe travel on snowy roads
39~A banjo hymn for school
40~The power, off all day, finally returned and allowed for a much-needed hot shower
41~The road plowed of new snow before time to go
42~The children’s joy at working on their art projects
43~A meeting with someone who understands children and their feelings
44~A few hours by myself
45~No change in my eye prescription
46~A few ‘stolen’ moments to talk to a friend who understands miscarriage
47~My new ‘pet’. . .

48~The orangey spicy scent of the kids’-made potpourri
49~Advent readings discussed, finalized, and printed (only a week late)
50~Advent coloring pages printed and sorted
51~Advent ‘wreath’ found

52~Also found enough candles to begin wreath lighting last night
53~A little girl who likes to sing. . .
54~. . . and dress in pretty clothes
55~My brother’s school project, about the firstborn calf, completed and looking grand
56~A stay home day
57~”Sunrise, sunset” in photos (these ones, unlike the previous post’s, are straight out of the camera and not adjusted at all!)

Sunrise~10.24 am

Sunrise~10.27 am

Sunrise~10.29 am

Sunrise~10.44 am

Sunset~5.36 pm

58~”Sunrise, sunset” in song and dance (. . . on the same day, and planned the day before!)

Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laden with happiness and tears

59~A husband and child who will sit and watch this with me

Does this sound like a good idea to you? Want to join us?

4 Responses to “MM: December 7”

  1. Kara Says:

    hi there! kara of alaska coupon diva here. just wanted to let you know that being a google follower does count (that’s what google reader is kind of!) does count, but just go ahead and leave an extra entry on the post so we know to give you “2 votes” for the giveaway. 🙂

    i’m sorry to hear about your pregnancy loss, even though it was a little while back. I know how hard that can be, went through the same thing this past month.

  2. Mum-me Says:

    Your weather pixie is wearing a coat and mine is in a bikini!

    Your thankful list is great. It’s reminded me to stop and enjoy the small things when there seems to be so many ‘big’ things stressing me out lately.

  3. carrien (she laughs at the days) Says:

    HI.

    After the comments you left me I wanted to come over here and give you a big hug. Which I can’t do of course for real, but I want to. Thanks for sharing your story with me.

    I can tell you that the pain eases over time. Every so often though it floods back in a shock and those are hard. But it does ease again.

    I don’t think it ever goes away completely though.

    hugs

  4. purplemoose Says:

    Hmmm. Maybe I should change my weather pixie to Australia. or maybe I should change myself to Australia? 😉 Glad to give you a moment to pause in the stress.


Leave a Reply

