Moosey Win!

I won the contest, 50580 words!!!, but the novel isn’t done yet.  Dear me.  I have a new hobby.  Sorry, moosey honey baby!  😉

(It is a good thing, right?)

I suppose now I’ll need to finish this monster. I don’t know what I’ll do with it from here.  I do have a spare drawer that needs to be filled.  😉

8 Responses to “Moosey Win!”

  1. sheila Says:

    What did you win? lol

  2. Amy Jane (Untangling Tales) Says:

    An x#-page document, that’s what!

    Congrats! I’m excited for you.
    Just remember it took me 3 years to get to the level of doneness I’m at, and I still have two known levels to return through (I’d enumerate what and why, but I’ll spare you for now– unless you ask for more detail 😉 .)

    But *yes* if you can think little enough of your work plugging on is exactly what you should do.

    Forgive me (and feel free to cut this comment if I went public with something that’s private) but I don’t think you need to worry about miscarriage as a “taboo” topic for publishers. Quite the opposite. Genuine, heartfelt, pithy stories about gut-wrenching topics are in high demand.

    The difficulty is only making them real (and meaningful– not sappy– in the eyes of enough/the right readers), and the accompanying vulnerability (which could be huge).

    (My theory about all this is the hunger of individuals in our isolated society for a sense of connection to the deepest heart of someone. Before our era this openness used to mean an expression of trust and promoted a bond through a type of exclusivity– having access to another’s soul binds you together… though now that’s almost as much of a fantasy as my ginormous snake…)

    The poet Edna St. Vincent Millay said something along the lines of, “Anyone who publishes a book appears before the world with his pants down. If it’s a good book, nothing can harm him. If it’s a bad book, nothing can save him.”

    I say that not to scare you away from writing but to make you aware.

    Congrats Congrats! 50,000+ words on one story is no mean feat. Well done!

  3. Tiaras & Tantrums Says:

    Yeah!! This is so wonderful!! Many Congrats!

  4. The Bull Says:

    Ummmm, no you don’t (have a spare drawer).

    I want a hard copy though.

  5. debi b Says:

    WOW! Congratulations! I am so glad you found an outlet to help you work through your loss.
    Well done!

  6. purplemoose Says:

    Well, I did read something about a cash prize. . . but it was just a joke! 😉 The main prize is the confidence that comes from knowing that I did this! I really want to finish the novel, whether I get it published or not.

  7. purplemoose Says:

    Well, I could make a spare drawer, couldn’t I? 😉

  8. MM: December 14 « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] a home grown sunflower 61~ Borscht. . . helped by the boys 62~Catching up on things that stacked up last month, one area at a time 63~A boy lost in enjoyment of a book he’s reading 64~ . . . and that […]


Leave a Reply

