MPM: Week of November 16

meal plan monday button

I’m up to 27,000 words.  That’s a little more than half way to my goal (50,000 words) and the month is half over.  That’s actually a lot better than I thought I’d do, but it is  getting harder now, the longer I write.  (Emotionally harder I mean. . . since I’m writing about this and basically re-living it.  But at the same time, it’s very, very good to be doing this.)  But I think I can make my goal!  (I think I can, I think I can, I think I can . . . toooo-whoo!)

This week I ♥ my crock pot.

Monday:   Chicken and rice (a recipe from Aunt Mel, which I will share with you below.)  Except that we have a glut huge blessing of potatoes from our garden so I will substitute potatoes for the rice.

Tuesday:  Bratwurst, raw potato chunks, and a jar or two of The Bull’s home made cabbage: throw it all in the crock pot and let it simmer all day.  I hope it works out well!

Wednesday:   Dinner at church.

Thursday:  We’ll either go out on a date, me and my honey, or I’ll make tuna pot pie (recipe below.)  Except I will substitute salmon for the tuna, since we have it and the kids like it in this recipe.  (At least they liked it when I made it last.  Hopefully they’ll like it this time too!)

Friday, Kids’ night:  Breakfast for dinner:  Muffins, eggs, fruit, and cocoa fruit dip.  (I’ve never made this, but it sounds lovely doesn’t it?  I almost think I’d like to eat it plain.)

Saturday:  Chicken Delicious, served on cooked potato chunks instead of rice, with a random veggie.

Sunday:  Moose ribs, baked potatoes, and dried sweet corn. ( I put the ribs in a roaster pan, sprinkle with Montreal Steak seasoning, add a little water, and bake it covered all day.  Then I pour BBQ sauce over it at the end. . . usually it ends up tender and delish.)

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

Chicken and rice (from Aunt Mel)

Chicken thighs
Rice (Uncle Ben’s converted is what I learned this recipe with)
Vegetables (frozen, fresh, or canned)
Bouillon (chicken, of course), several cubes to taste

  1. Boil chicken in lots of water for 30 to 45 minutes.  Remove the chicken from the water and RESERVE THE WATER! (One time I forgot what I was doing and threw it out to the dogs, oh my! It was a sad day for me, but a pretty happy day for them.)
  2. Set the chicken aside until it is cool enough that you can handle it.  Then take the bones and fat out and cut into pieces.
  3. Add the rice and frozen or fresh vegetables and bouillon to the chicken water.
  4. Boil until the rice is tender.  Check the flavor and stir often, adding more bouillon as necessary.
  5. If using canned vegetables, add them when the rice is tender and heat through.
  6. You can make this extra broth-y and eat it as a soup, or less broth-y and eat it as a casserole.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

Tuna pot pie (clipped from the newspaper 10/4/1988)

1lemon, thinly sliced
13 oz can white tuna, drained and flaked (we will be using smoked salmon)
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can clam chowder (we’ll use another can of chicken soup. . . clams don’t go over well here)
2 tablespoons onion flakes
1 tablespoon celery flakes
1 tablespoon parsley flakes
1/4 teaspoon sage
1/4 teaspoon thyme
1/4 teaspoon lemon pepper seasoning
3 tablespoons pre-cooked rice
5 1/3 oz can evaporated milk
8.5 oz package corn muffin mix

  1. Cover bottom of buttered 2-quart baking dish with lemon.  Combine tuna, soups, spices, seasonings, rice, and milk; pour into baking dish.  Bake at 375 degrees F for 20 minutes.
  2. Prepare corn muffin mix according to package directions.  Spread over hot tuna mixture.  Bake at 400 degrees F for 20 minutes.

You can stop over at the Org Junkie’s blog for more recipes, meal plans, and all sorts of organization tips.  It’s a fun place!

3 Responses to “MPM: Week of November 16”

  1. MPM: Week of November 23 « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] A few quick notes on last week’s menu: […]

  2. MPM: Week of 3/1/2010 « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] Tuesday:  Chicken and rice. […]

  3. The Moose Is Back | Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] tonight’s menu, moose ribs. I had to check my own blog for my recipe. 😉 Last time we had game meat was 2011. Crazy how time […]


Leave a Reply

