TT: With A Little Help From . . .

Last night we had a short time at our church to remember our baby, Shelomith.  I printed a thank-you card with a passage that I memorized back in January with some folks:

“For you created my inmost being, you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place.  When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body.  All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.  How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand. When I awake, I am still with you.”  (Psalm 139:13-18, NIV)

Needless to say, this passage has quite a new meaning for me now.

The Bull tried to read this passage last night.  He had a hard time getting through it.  Why not?  He’s only wanted to be a father since he was in high school.  Losing our baby has been really hard on him.

It’s been really hard on me, too.  Miscarriage is not something I ever really thought I would go through.  Although, looking back on it now. . .I knew so many women who had been down this rough road before that I knew who to turn to for advice and support.  Including a friend from elementary school, who I reconnected with just two or three months ago, who miscarried last year.  At 16 weeks.  (Hmmm, divine providence, you think?)

What I didn’t expect was to hear so many other women, some of whom I have known for decades, say that they, too, have miscarried.  Miscarriage is, for some, a painful secret that is not shared for many reasons.

And I also didn’t expect the support and love that has been poured out on our family these past two and a half weeks.

Today I’ve got to say that I am so, so thankful for our friends.  Some have called, some have emailed, some have stopped by to visit.  Friends have brought meals, cookies, pie, birthday cake.  Friends have mailed cards.  Friends have left loving, sweet comments on this blog.  I’ve spent lots of time talking and emailing and it’s been so helpful to know that I can share my heart with these close friends.

Today I am immensely thankful for the friends, near and far, who have made this journey a little bit easier for us.

(Join Lynn this month to share Thankful Thursday postings.)

8 Responses to “TT: With A Little Help From . . .”

  1. Denise Says:

    You remain very much in my thoughts and prayers sweetie.

  2. Mum-me Says:

    I’m so glad to read that you’ve had people around you who are loving and supporting you through this difficult time. That is an answer to my prayers.

  3. debi b Says:

    I kept you in my thoughts and prayers last night and I’m so thankful you are being so well cared for by your family and friends.
    Love and Light to you.

  4. heidi Says:

    Rob and I have kept you all in our thoughts and prayers. Hope the sun is all shiney again, soon.

  5. Jess @ Blog Schmog Says:

    I wrote a poem this week and I thought of you as I grieve over my dad’s diagnosis with alzheimer’s disease. It is not the same as the loss of a child but I thougt you may find comfort in the post here http://wp.me/pFHm8-1u
    Jess

  6. Mystie Says:

    Hello,

    I came to your blog from Preschoolers and Peace to share my sympathy with you. Three years ago this month we lost a baby (our third & third boy) at 16 weeks. It was a big shock, because there had been heartbeats before then and everything had seemed normal. We still don’t know why we lost him; there were no signs that anything was wrong with him.

    I am glad you have support; miscarriage and losing babies is a secret sorrow women don’t share about openly enough, I think. Here is what I wrote about our loss & grief at the time:

    http://www.pelennorfields.com/mystie/2006/in-memory/
    http://www.pelennorfields.com/mystie/2006/paradise-regained/
    http://www.pelennorfields.com/mystie/2006/grateful/

  7. Rebecca Says:

    I, too, found your blog through Preschoolers & Peace. I quite honestly only visit that blog once every few months and am glad that this was one of those times. I just wanted to say how very sorry I am for your loss. I know that must have come as quite a devastating shock for you, especially having already been past that seemingly safe 13 week mark. We, too, just lost our daughter Olivia {our 4th calf too!} this last May at 28 weeks. She had Trisomy 18, which is considered ‘incompatible with life’. My heart goes out to you. These early days, when the pain is still so raw, are the hardest.

    I love the name you chose for your son. Praying that you would find the peace that his name represents.

    Feel free to email me or stop by my blog where I’ve shared many posts about Olivia and our grief.

  8. Random Music–Or Not? « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] Oh–and the memory verse that night–Psalm 139 : 14, “I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”  A verse that I love and hate. […]


Leave a Reply

