MPM: Sorta Back

meal plan monday button

We Are Back!

Well, sort of.  We are home from our trip (have been for a few days, actually!)  But I’m still working to get back into the “swing of things,” as it were.

*Sigh!*  The hardest part of going away is the unpacking and cleaning up.  Well, besides the packing and preparing.  And then there’s the actual trip itself.  😉

Anyways, since I rely on these menu plan postings for my memory of “what do we like to eat,” I’m posting two weeks today: last week’s and this week’s.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

Last Week:

Monday:   Stuffed Zucchini (recipe below.)

Tuesday:   Ginger/garlic stir fry.

Wednesday:  Dinner at church.

Thursday:  Stuffed cabbage (aka Golabki or Cabbage Rolls, here is my favorite recipe but there are many others just on allrecipes.com.). . . . I cheated a bit and doubled the stuffing from Monday’s meal and used half for this meal (just added a cup or two of cooked rice.)  And I used a can of tomato soup (partly diluted) instead of the tomato juice.  And I baked them in the oven for about 1/2 hour (really should have baked about an hour or longer, but we were running out of time for dinner!)

Friday, Kids’ night:  The Moose family enjoyed a great night out at a wonderful party with awesome friends and yummy food!  Thanks Guys!

Saturday:  Turnip greens (using this recipe, but substituting turnip greens for the beet greens.)  Also magic milkshakes. . . the recipe looked a little iffy, but these were pretty good.

Sunday: Grilled burgers, cooked turnips and rutabagas, and baked potato chips.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

This Week:

Monday:  Turkey enchiladas (a freezer meal! yay!)

Tuesday:   Left Overs.

Wednesday:  To church for dinner.

Thursday:  Dare I say it?  A D-A-T-E?  We’ll see if this one works out. . . the last several haven’t.  😦

Friday, Kids’ night:  Breakfast for dinner!  Eggs and potatoes and bacon, methinks.

Saturday:  “Midnight Sun Stew” (recipe below below.)

Sunday:  Tuna noodle casserole (would you believe, I saw this in somebody’s recipe a few weeks ago and it still sounds good to me.  I’d almost call it a craving, except I don’t want to jinx myself and end up hating it. 😉 )

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

Stuffed Zucchini (my own creation and one of The Bull’s favorite meals) Serves 6

Cut a large zucchini in half; place cut side down on a baking sheet, cover, and bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes (until the zucchini is mostly softened.)

Meanwhile, brown 1/2 pound of ground meat, 1/4 onion, 1 clove of garlic, 1/4 cup chopped celery.  Let it cool.  Add 1/2 sleeve crushed Ritz crackers and 1/2 cup shredded cheese.

Scoop out the seeds and some of the flesh of the zucchini, chop well, and mix with the meat mixture.  Flip the zucchini halves so the cut side is up, pile on the stuffing, and bake another 15 minutes until the zucchini is soft and the cheese is melted.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

Midnight Sun Stew (from a local newsletter nearly a decade ago)  Serves 4 (so I’ll be doubling this one)

1 pound ground meat (caribou, moose, beef)
4 large potatoes
1 onion
1 can dark red kidney beans (save the juice)
1 can tomato soup

Peel and thinly slice the potatoes (WHAT!  I never peel potatoes!) and onion.  Layer in the bottom of a Crock*Pot or deep casserole dish all of the potatoes, 1/3 onion, 1/3 raw meat (in chunks.)  Spoon on 1/3 of beans and juice.  Repeat layers twice.  Spread undiluted tomato soup over everything.  Cover.

Cook in Crock*Pot on low for 5 hours or in oven at 350 degrees for 1.5 hours until potatoes are tender.

Stir everything together for the last half hour of cooking (either method.)

Serve with crusty French bread for soaking up the juice.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

And now, if ya don’t mind, I’m gonna hit the hay.  It’s been a long day and the head is a-poundin’.  If I am able to, I will post about our trip tomorrow!

6 Responses to “MPM: Sorta Back”

  1. Tiaras & Tantrums Says:

    I just want to know how you get your kids to eat stuffed cabbage??

    hope you are getting some rest

  2. purplemoose Says:

    We enforce a “one bite” rule. The older boy is usually good at eating it, but then he might not have any more. The younger boy. . . this time we cheated and just gave him some of the stuffing (I made too much stuffing, oops!) The girl will eat just about anything. She really liked the cabbage! I do try to include something at each meal that the younger boy will like (a side dish or veggies), mainly he likes crunchy food and not mushy food or casseroles.

    I still have to stop over to see what you’ve blogged these past two weeks!! Time gets away from me so fast these days. I lose time in napping and then I still don’t have much energy or stamina. Blogging is hard these days!

  3. heidi Says:

    I never peel my potatoes either. I’m lazy, er, uh, far too busy to be bothered. Hmph.

    WB. 🙂

  4. debi b Says:

    So glad you are back! I hope you had a great and successful trip!
    How have you been feeling???

  5. purplemoose Says:

    I have been feeling mostly better, thanks! I’m trying to post about the trip now. 🙂

  6. purplemoose Says:

    Besides, the peels are packed with nutrition! Yeah, saves time too. 😉 Thanks!


Leave a Reply

