MPM: Bad Week

meal plan monday button

“The best laid schemes o’ Mice an’ Men,
Gang aft agley.”

Or, if you prefer this in English:

“The best laid plans of mice and men
Often go awry.”

Which is a nice way of saying that last week did not work at all as I had planned or hoped.  So what else is new, right?  I should not really be surprised.

Well, I was OK with not going on a date on Tuesday.  I thought it would be fine to cancel part of our weekend camping trip.  What I was not cool with was learning that some of our friends had lost their dear little one last week.  This absolutely heart breaking news I was not prepared for!  (Is anybody?)  I know that God has a plan and will use this for our benefit, though, even though we are hurting right now.  Please keep our friends and their family and friends in your prayers!

Nausea-wise, though, things are calming down.  (Or so I thought yesterday; today has been hard again.  There is no rhyme or reason to this stuff!)

Here is this week’s planned menu, which I reserve the right to throw out the window if needed:

Monday:  The Bull graciously made dinner and cleaned up the kitchen.  He’s such a sweetie!  He made bubble and squeak (one of our favorite standby meals. . . you slice potatoes and sausage and fry them up nice and brown; then add shredded cabbage at the end and cook until the cabbage is soft.)  And fresh garden salad on the side.

(I got potatoes last week for the ridiculously low price (for us) of $1.50 for 15 pounds, so we’ve been eating lots of potatoes this weekend!  One big, bright spot last week.  I guess last week wasn’t all bad.)

Tuesday:  Out and about for dinner.

Wednesday:  Dinner @ church.

Thursday:  Pasketti for the kids; Spaghetti for the grown-ups.  And fresh garden salad on the side.

Friday, Kids’ night:  Another classic favorite, breakfast for dinner!  Eggs and bacon and hash browns, I think.  (Although I reserve the right to substitute coffee cake or pancakes if I’m feeling ambitious.)

Saturday:  Scalloped potatoes (sliced potatoes in a white sauce with cheese and maybe ham.)  And fresh garden salad on the side.

Sunday:  Taco salad (recipe here.)  With fresh garden salad.

(Can we say Hooray for fresh veggies from the garden?)

If you’re searching for inspiration for dinner, check the Org Junkie’s blog.  You may find it there!

2 Responses to “MPM: Bad Week”

  1. Mum-me Says:

    So sorry to hear about your friend’s child. I saw your prayer request on facebook too. What a tragedy.

    I do a fortnightly menu (because I only grocery shop every two weeks) and it often gets mixed around or sometimes ignored. When it does work, though, it’s great!

  2. MM: December 14 « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] hot decaf mocha with raspberry flavor for me 78~Arrival of ordered materials 79~A small party with others who are hurting; a temporary distraction from the pain of grief and loss 80~The smell of the orange oil polish used […]


Leave a Reply

