MPM: Not Liking The Food!

meal plan monday button

So I’ve been dealing with this stupid nausea for a full month now.  I really shouldn’t complain–I know others have it worse–but I’m tired of being grossed out by food, and being hungry and stressing about what to eat.   I haven’t even been eating chocolate these days!  I’d really like to get back to my old self again.

(I know, it’s gonna be a few months before we get back to “normal” again.)

Plus, yesterday was a tough day on the ol’ homestead.  The Bull decided that it would be best if we had fewer chickens to feed.  It’s a natural part of chicken-raising, I know.  And I stayed away from the process as much as possible.  But I still got to hear, see, and smell a little more than I liked.

So, needless to say, I don’t even want to think about what to cook for meals this week. Fortunately, I don’t have to!  This is an odd week.  But I’ll get to that in a few minutes.

First off, I’d like to share what I figured out for last week.  There were two big undecided issues in my menu plan.  The first was Thursday night’s “Breakfast for dinner.”  I used a recipe for Paula Deen’s “Ultimate Coffee Cake” (it’s about halfway down the page) that really worked out well.  I think that everybody liked it–including me, amazingly enough!  The other undecided meal was our 7-year-old’s pirate-themed birthday party.  I found a cute idea which included peg legs (baked chicken legs), small daggers (sliced orange peppers), pirate’s teeth (corn on the cob cut into kid-friendly thirds), and GOLD! (puffed cheese balls.)  We also served the small pirates a hearty bottle o’ rum (root beer in glass bottles.)  It was a grand party!

Here’s the goods this week:

Monday:  The Bull is baking some of yesterday’s chicken for the family.  (I think I’ll find myself something else. . . he offered to make me something but I thought I’d make his job a little easier.)

Tuesday:  It’s our first visit with the midwife!  To celebrate, I’m planning to take The Bull out for a nice dinner somewhere (if the sitter is available. . . if not, well, I’ll punt.  Oh, and this is a surprise. . . don’t tell him!)

Wednesday:  Dinner @ church.  Sweet relief, I don’t need to cook another night!

Thursday:   Friday, Kids’ night:   Saturday:   Sunday:  We’re going on a camping trip, and I’m not sure what we’ll find to eat there.  Wish me luck!

You can check out Org Junkie’s blog for other recipes and meal plans.  We now return you to your regularly scheduled day.  🙂

6 Responses to “MPM: Not Liking The Food!”

  1. heidi Says:

    Oh GAG. The whole Chickening process is enough to make a non-[regnant person cough up a hairball. I can’t imagine being pg and having to deal.

    Nope. Couldn’t Cope.

  2. debi b Says:

    I’m going to have to try out Paula’s recipe!
    Can’t go wrong with her hometown cooking!

    ps Have you tried sucking on sour candies for the nausea?
    It helped me tons with my twins’ pregnancy.

  3. purplemoose Says:

    Actually, I’ve tried the preggie pops and queasy drops, and they do a fair job. I like the queasy drops better because they are sugar free. It does look a little odd when I’m eating “candy” in front of the kids, though! 😉

  4. Tiaras & Tantrums Says:

    oh I have made that ultimate coffee cake – so yummy!!!

    so you didn’t partake in the plucking is what I gather??

  5. purplemoose Says:

    No plucking for me, yuck!! 😦

  6. MPM: Bad Week « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] Comments Grace Alone… … on TT: Big News!purplemoose on MPM: Not Liking The Food…purplemoose on WW: Bee-utiful!Tiaras & Tantrum… on TT: Big News!Tiaras & […]


Leave a Reply

