TT: Summer, Part II

So last week I talked a lot about the weather and a little about our activities.  Today is day 14 of running and going and doing, dropping off kids here and going over there and then coming back to pick up kids and eating away from home . . . all of which requires quite a bit of planning, organizing, and diaper changes away from home . . . three of my least favorite activities!

This week, I am feeling super tired from the running and going.  And it’s not over yet. . . this looks to be another busy weekend, and then we’ll be onto another busy week.  Am I complaining?  Maybe a little.  Like I said, it’s been two weeks and I’m tired.  (I know, many people do this all the time. . . but I’m not used to it!)  I had planned to have a few “stay home” days per week this summer.  But life happens and the plan went out the window these past few weeks.

However, we are truly having a blast.  The kids are learning wonderful things at camps and Vacation Bible School.  We have had some wonderful times eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and playing at parks.  We’ve been to the library quite a few times.   Play dates with friends, and swings and slides, and bug bites and scrapes and yeah–even a fall or two.   I don’t even want to think of how many miles I’ve put on the van, or how many dollars in the gas tank.

But I’m incredibly thankful for the opportunities to do and go and see and laugh with my children.  We are taking lots of pictures and will have many wonderful, warm, sunny days to remember during the bleak, cold, dark winter.  (Which will be here before we know it. . . aren’t you glad I reminded you?)

I am enjoying the busy summer because I know that it is the LORD who has blessed with the ability to do these activities.  Not everyone can; when I was growing up, we didn’t do much during the summer because money was so tight.

And I am thankful that we have these opportunities.  Our area is abounding in possible fun things, and many of them are F-R-E-E for us!  We live in a great community.

I am thankful that the children are handling the busy-ness so well, too.  They are staying fairly healthy and relatively calm and decent with each other.  (Although I can see the tiredness starting to kick in. . . little pestrations are arising here and there and Calf #2 fell asleep with his hat on tonight!)

And when life slows to a more manageable pace, and I am tempted to complain about boredom. . . I pray that I will remember these busy days and, instead of complaining, be thanking our LORD for the break.

During July, I’m linking up with Lynn for Thankful Thursday.  Next month we’re back over at Iris’ place!  (And maybe by then our activities will have slowed enough that I can get back to regular bloggy habits!)

4 Responses to “TT: Summer, Part II”

  1. Denise Says:

    So glad you are enjoying your summer.

  2. vicka Says:

    I am running too… So I need to come back later and read your other posts… Yes I am also grateful for a busy summer as winter will come and we will be traped again:)

  3. Storm Says:

    I’m glad you are enjoying your summer despite the busy-ness of it all.

  4. Lynn Says:

    Sound like you are having a full and delightful summer. Neat… Enjoy the craziness…

    See you again Thursday. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

