TT: Freedom

Summer has been super busy with running around and swimming and going here and there and parties and  . . . and . . . and . . .

Whew!!!

But I promised I’d play along for Thankful Thursday.  I have a hard time lately thinking through profound thoughts on the topic, much less sitting and composing said thoughts!  And yet, I have really been missing this chance to set my heart on the true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, and praiseworthy things.  So for the time being (aka, summer) I’ll keep it simple.

4thjulyparade08

Last year we joined a group marching (walking) in a 4th of July parade.  Here’s my oldest, who convinced me that he’d ride his bike the whole parade route!  (We only had to push and/or drag it a few blocks. . .)

One of my favorite “freedom” scriptures . . .

Luke 4:18-21, “‘The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to release the oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.’  Then he rolled up the scroll, gave it back to the attendant and sat down. The eyes of everyone in the synagogue were fastened on him, and he began by saying to them, ‘Today this scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.'”

Jesus was visiting his home town.  He went to the synagogue and was given the honor of reading the day’s Scripture reading.  He read from Isaiah 61:1-2, which says, “The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners [or blind], to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn.”

Except that he didn’t finish the verse.  It was not yet time for “the day of vengeance of our God,” nor was it time to “comfort all who mourn.”

Today, I am thankful that He has come to proclaim freedom for the captives!  We are free!

This monthwe are linking up with Lynn for Thankful Thursday.  Join us next week!

5 Responses to “TT: Freedom”

  1. Rita Says:

    Partying a lot, are you? Ha ha. Loved reading your post. Hope you’re enjoying the 4th way up there in Alaska!

  2. Denise Says:

    I enjoyed this sweet post.

  3. vicka Says:

    This is a very cool blog!!! I will definately will check it out on the constant base!

  4. purplemoose Says:

    Thank you Vicka! 🙂 And Denise! Rita, we had a great day. I hope yours was too!

  5. Lynn Says:

    PM,

    This post is awesome. These scriptures are perfect for our freedom theme. I wish I had thought to include them. I am so glad you remembered.

    In fact, I think I will dwell on this this week again. God bless and see you again Thursday. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

