NMM: Vacation Recap

notmemonday

Monday again!  Today’s the day we link up with MckMama for the sweet blog carnival she started.

Seeing that we’re recently back from a vacation, I figured I would NOT talk about it.  Because it was NOT anything to write home about.

We did NOT endure several hours of kids-stuck-in-the-van, with lots of  “I have to pee!” and “When will we be there?” and “I want THAAAAT book!” and “I’m HUNGRY!”  all the way to “The Big City.”  We did NOT happily crash at our friend’s house, and wish the kids would settle down in the tent soon so we could sleep!

I did NOT sleep through The Bull’s leg cramps on Saturday night and Sunday night, one of which did NOT involve him taking a 3 a.m. trip to the grocery store for tonic water (which contains quinine, which his doctor has said will immediately stop leg cramps) and Gatorade (to drink all day long, which is supposed to prevent them.)

(I did NOT have cramps of my own, of a different variety, last week.)

(I did NOT just blog about “girly things.”)

We did NOT invade our friend’s house after only two nights in the tent.  The Bull was NOT relieved to sleep on a bed, after working so hard during those days.  I am NOT unhappy that this was our only camping trip for the summer!  And I was NOT thrilled with the idea of “camping” where we’d have hot showers, real food, and wireless Internet connection.  🙂

I did NOT try to arrange last-minute play dates with friends in the area.  I am usually much more prepared than that and make arrangements in advance! The problem was that I did NOT have any idea how The Bull’s work on Aunt Mel’s project would go, how long it would take, if I’d be able to help him, etc.

I did NOT take the three mooselets to our old church by myself on Sunday morning.  We usually attend as a family.  I did NOT feel very sad when friend after friend asked “where is The Bull?”  And my heart did NOT soar when I saw him drive into the parking lot after hitting the local Home Depot for yet more building materials needed for the project.  I did NOT tear up again, to be in the church we were married in ten years ago, and see purple lilacs on the altar (which is my favorite flower and the one I carried in my bouquet!)

I did NOT hang around Aunt Mel’s project with the children, hoping to be able to help with something and instead spend much time “Leave that alone,” “Get out of there,” and “Stop playing with Daddy’s tools!”  I did NOT quickly realize that small children plus building materials plus tools plus a deck under reconstruction is NOT a good combination.  So I did NOT instead spend time at Target, and Wal*mart, and Fred Meyer’s, and Sears, and Wal*Mart again, each and every day of the project (about one store a day), looking for the Best Gift Ever for the Best Father Ever.

(I did NOT hide all my purchases from The Bull right under his nose!  He did NOT have any clue that that the bags he unpacked from the van when we returned home hid his Father’s Day gifts!)

I did NOT ditch my hubby and children one day to go hang out with Aunt Mel during her chemotherapy.  I did NOT almost laugh out loud when her doctor walked into the room . . . wearing a Hawaiian shirt, jeans, and sandals!  I did NOT have to bite my tongue when I realized that the doctor looks just like Lance Armstrong, maybe in a few years.  I did NOT spend the three hours of her treatment re-learning to play cribbage.  Her brother taught me years ago and I did NOT forget how to play because I hadn’t played in sooo long.

We did NOT experience warmer-than-normal temperatures Sunday through Wednesday, while The Bull was doing the work.  70 degrees in Alaska in June?  So NOT normal!  We are NOT used to this kind of warm weather so we did NOT have to drink extra fluids and run air conditioning in the van as we drove around.  (Interestingly enough, the day we married, 10 years ago, was a hot day too. ) I did NOT pack mainly long sleeve shirts for the children and me, since the weather was predicted to be cool and cloudy.  Then I did NOT regret this when the weather ended up being so warm!!!

I did NOT drive around extra so that Calf #3 could nap in her car seat in the van on Saturday.  And Sunday.  Oh, and Monday too.  And on Tuesday and Wednesday.  And Thursday as well. Anyway! I did NOT park the van in the shade at Aunt Mel’s and leave the doors and windows open on a breezy day while she napped so she wouldn’t get too hot, which led to her being eaten up by mosquitoes. And I did NOT leave the van running and the air conditioning on another day, so she wouldn’t get too hot or eaten by mosquitoes. And she did NOT take extra short naps last week. So she was NOT extra crabby last week, and neither was I!

On Tuesday night, we did NOT drive around “The Big City” for twenty minutes, after dropping the calves off with a dear friend, to have an anniversary date.  We did NOT decide to just go to the Lone Star Steakhouse, since we had a coupon.  We did NOT then spend another half hour driving up one street, and down the next, looking for a coffee shop affiliated with a church that I remember from “way back when” (before The Bull and I married.)  I remembered the name of the coffee shop, but I could NOT remember the name of the church.  Since we could NOT find it, we did NOT decide to just go to the Barnes & Knobles’ coffee shop for cheesecake and decaffeinated beverages and play cribbage. I did NOT keep looking at my watch during this lovely date, hoping to get back to the calves before it got too late, as our friend had early-morning obligations and The Bull wanted an early start to the work day.

We did NOT scramble to finish the project on Wednesday night, so as to spend Thursday as a family.  We did NOT wake up Thursday morning to 50-degree weather, after several hot 70-degree days, and then decide to spend the day outside at the zoo!  I was NOT happy to go into the bathroom at the zoo because it was HEATED and I was COLD!  Ugh!  It is normal to have 50-degree days here, we are used to it and don’t complain about it.

I am NOT going to show any pictures from our vacation today, but if you want to see some you can go here and here and here and here and here (and maybe more soon, check back later.)  And maybe I’ll post zoo pics later.

I did NOT feel awkward when we arrived home after vacation, as if we were in a new place and I couldn’t remember what to do or where to put things.  This is my home, for crying in the mud; we were only gone a week!

We did NOT have chips with our dinner Saturday night, since I was NOT feeling a bit creative after a week’s vacation from menu planning.  I did NOT take several minutes of video of the little girl calf, hoping to capture her adorable pronunciation of “chip.”  We NOT make our children ask politely for what they want, which does NOT make them scream and fuss and cry all the more.

In case you can’t quite hear it, it is “Pla ple.”

I did NOT just include FOUR videos of my baby girl having a fit in this post!

See ya next time!

7 Responses to “NMM: Vacation Recap”

  1. Mum-me Says:

    Well, these ‘not’ posts always confuse me, but it seems you had a good time despite the unpredictable weather, and the predictable toddler! I like the your way of ‘camping’.

  2. debi b Says:

    I did not just giggle at those videos! LOL
    It did not sound like you had a good vacation, dispite the leg cramps.

    Glad you had a good time and happy to have you back 🙂

  3. purplemoose Says:

    Thanks Debi! And Mum-me, I enjoyed your camping pics and stories, might not have commented . . . you definitely had more beautiful scenery!

  4. glutenfree4goofs Says:

    Ha, you are funny!
    Jessie

  5. T&T Says:

    was that really a vacation if your man was working the entire time??

    your little one cracks me up!!

  6. purplemoose Says:

    Well, you know what they say. . . “the best day building beats the worst day working.” Or was that fishing? I forget. 🙂 I promise, TT, I’m coming to visit you soon!

  7. BPS: Heat? « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] a few weeks ago during our vacation the temperatures got all the way up to 70 degrees.  That was nice! Since then it’s mainly […]


Leave a Reply

