NMMMPM: Mixed Up

notmemondaymeal plan monday buttonAh, the joys of vacation! And the convenience of scheduling posts (thanks so much, Debi! Great idea!)

Today I am relaxing on a beach somewhere, lying under an umbrella, with a cool iced tea in my hand, listening to the waves crash softly at my feet, feeling the warmth of the summer sun on my toes.

Or not! But doesn’t that sound good?  (Except maybe the iced tea, I don’t care for that much.)

And we are NOT doing a tour of the Grand Canyon, we are NOT exploring the Great Wall of China, and we are definitely NOT climbing Mt. McKinley, the largest peak on North American continent!  (No, really, we are NOT doing any of these things!)

But we ARE on vacation.  🙂

And if we are very, very lucky we might get to see Mt. McKinley.  For real!

This week, I am NOT making dinner.  (Did you hear that scream? That would be The Bull . . . it’s ok, honey, I’m doing my “Not Me! Monday”!  You will get some food this week!)

I’m NOT doing my menu this week (really not!) because I don’t know what we’ll come up with.  I hope that this week’s menu plan involves a lot of BBQ’ing and paper plates and ice cream.  And rumour has it that our hosts make an awesome camp pie. 🙂  We’ll just have to see.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

I am NOT making these this week (really not!)  I have NOT made them and taken them to potlucks before, and grinned when kids eat them because I’m NOT up to sneaking good food into them!  I did NOT promise this recipe to Heidi three months ago.  (OK, it may have only been two months.)

Lentil Brownies (I think it comes from Magic Beans, by Patti Bazel Geil.)  It’s low fat but you certainly don’t have to make it that way! 🙂

1/2 cup lentils, uncooked
1.5 cups water
1 cup egg substitute (or 4 eggs)
1.75 cups sugar
.25 cups corn oil
.75 cups applesauce (or more oil)
2 teaspoons vanilla
1.5 cups whole wheat flour
.5 cup plus 2 Tablespoons cocoa
.5 teaspoon salt
.5 cup chocolate chips
1 cup marshmallows
Nonstick cooking spray

Rinse the lentils; combine with water in a pan and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat.  Cover and simmer for 40 minutes or until tender.  Drain off excess liquid.

In the meantime, beat the egg substitute and sugar.  Add the oil, applesauce, vanilla, flour, cocoa, and salt to the sugar and egg substitute mixture.  Stir in the cooked lentils, chocolate chips, and marshmallows.

Press into a 9×13 pan coated with cooking spray.  Bake for 35 minutes at 350 degrees.  Cool and cut.

I also do NOT have other sneaky recipes. . . I may share others if you like!

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-

Oh yeah, to link up your menu plan, go here.  To play along with Not Me! Monday, go here.

Until we meet again . . .

2 Responses to “NMMMPM: Mixed Up”

  1. Mum-me Says:

    Okay, I’m confused.

  2. Tiaras & Tatnrums Says:

    I hope you are NOT cooking this week – it is your vacation too girlie!!

    HAVE A GREAT TIME!


Leave a Reply

