TT: Nature

It’s time once again. . . Thankful Thursday, this month hosted by Lynn!  The hardest, albeit best, meme of my week.

Well, today’s theme isn’t too hard.  I can do this one without going too far, so to speak.  Alaska in the summer time, wowzers!  Summer is one of the things that made me sure that Alaska would be a great place to lay down roots.

(We won’t talk about winter time today.)

My first summer in Alaska was in 1992.  I had a two-week break from school in Phoenix.  We went from Anchorage to Seward, to Fairbanks, to Denali Park, and many stops in between.  I was amazed at the green-ness.  It was everywhere I looked!  Whereas Arizona was brown and dry and ugly and dead-looking, Alaska was green and lush and lovely and lively.

(Sadly, it tends to be rainy in the summer.  But we won’t talk about that today, either.)

The following year, I moved to Alaska permanently during the springtime.  I got to see where all the green comes from!

This year, I got to experience spring twice.  The first time was several weeks ago; we drove a ways north to see Aunt Mel.  There was still snow in our yard, but the climate was slightly warmer as we got closer to her town.  I was shocked to see the trees all budded.

northern-spring-weekend2

The closer we got to her place, the more green there was.

northern-spring-weekend3

Interestingly, springtime in Alaska reminds me of Aunt Mel, as it is one of her favorite times.  Specifically, the color of the newly opened leaves, “pea-green,” as she calls it, is one of her favorites.  (She was scheduled for chemotherapy this week, if you are praying with us. . . so far, all is going well and she is tolerating the chemo quite nicely.)

The second springtime we have had was in our own town, a week or two later than at Aunt Mel’s.  What joy I have had this year, to see the yard go from brown and lifeless, to green and life-filled!

It reminds me of one of my favorite songs, which comes from a verse in Isaiah: “For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap [their] hands.”  (chapter 55, verse 12)  What’s not to like about that!?  I can’t claim to understand all that this chapter is talking about, but my heart sings for joy as I read it.  Oh what a wonderful time this will be!  I wouldn’t mind a bit singing this song every day.  And I think we get to see a little bit of this every time the wind blows through the leaves.

Thank You, dear LORD, for the way You show Yourself through Your lovely creation!  And please, let this joyful time come soon!

4 Responses to “TT: Nature”

  1. Cascia @ Healthy Moms Says:

    Spring time is beautiful no matter where you live. I’ve never been to Alaska but I’ve heard that it is gorgeous. Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. T&T Says:

    so you live in Alaska?
    Couldn’t do it! Nope – not me – I hate living in Chicago b/c of the cold weather – I can not even tell you how happy I am now that the sun is shining here!

    ps – I bought the cake

  3. Denise Says:

    I enjoyed your post.

  4. debi b Says:

    Beautiful, beautiful post! Just makes me want to see Alaska that much more 🙂
    So true that it is just lovely to see and feel God in his creations.


Leave a Reply

