TT: Wisdom

It’s been such a busy week here in Mooseland.  The sun is shining, the grass is greening, the leaves are unfurling, the sandhill cranes are returning. . . and we’ve been enjoying spring immensely!  I plumb forgot it was Thursday until two minutes ago.  🙂

Today’s topic is Wisdom.  A few years ago, when I was a mother to two little boys, I became very frustrated.  My firstborn son was like many firstborns, ahead of the game.  He sprouted his first tooth by five months; he started talking quickly; he first walked the week her turned one year old.  In many, many things he was ahead of his age.  (Probably had something to do with the fact that, since he was an only child, I had lots of one-on-one time with him.)

When the second moose calf came along, I was in a quandry.  Firstborn was “only” two years and two months old.  He could do some things for himself (dressing, eating) but he still needed help in so many ways (choosing his clothes, buttoning his pants, climbing up into the high chair, etc.)  This is so, so normal; and I realize that the boys really weren’t that close together in age.  But it was a hard time for me.

One of the hardest parts was that Calf #2 didn’t follow his big brother in being early with his firsts.  He wasn’t really developmentally delayed; he followed more along the lines of a typical kid.  That was hard for me to understand at first.  “What’s wrong with my kid?” I would wonder.  The answer was, “Nothing!  He is developing at his own rate.”

The hardest part of this was in his communication skills.  We had tried to do baby sign language with the firstborn, but he started talking so early that he wouldn’t put the work into using the signs.  I gave up.  With the secondborn, the baby sign language worked very well.  He took to it quickly.  And that was a good thing, as he didn’t start using words nearly as early as his brother!  It was greatly helpful to me to know if he wanted more food, or if he was thirsty, or if he wanted me to read him a book, or was enthralled about the dog outside.  But when he started using more words, his speech was so garbled and unclear that I really wasn’t sure what he was saying!

I very clearly remember one frustrating day.  I was visiting a friend, standing in her kitchen, when my little boy came in and said something.  I expressed to my friend my frustration of not knowing what he’s trying to say and she wisely prayed, “LORD, give her the wisdom to understand her baby’s words.”

As in many areas of my life, this was something I had been perceiving and coming around to anyway; she gave words to something that was becoming real to me.  But it was still profound to me that I could ask the LORD for wisdom in this way!

James 1:5 says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.

This verse is often applied to life decisions, knowing which vocation or spouse a person should choose.  I have come to understand that the verse ought not to be so limited!  We can ask God for wisdom in ANY area of our lives.

Indeed, after this visit with my friend, my attitude towards my young son’s developing language skills changed drastically.  I was still frustrated when I couldn’t understand him, but I also realized that there is One who understands him perfectly.  It was then amazing to me when my little boy would tell me “a asheis weoiras asldkwernm” and after praying for wisdom, paying close attention to my boy, and considering the situation and surroundings, it would be clear to me that what he was saying was that he wanted a drink of water!

I’m so thankful today that our LORD cares for all the little things in our lives, and that He does give us wisdom when we ask for it.

During May, Thankful Thursday is being hosted over at Lynn’s blog.  Come join us!

10 Responses to “TT: Wisdom”

  1. Laurie Ann Says:

    Great post! My grandchildren are like your children, the first did everything early and the second one (they are 13 months apart in age) is only doing what he wants to do when he wants to do it. Nolan, the 19th month old (oldest) said the other night, “Ashmanynomanonnoma?” clearly a question. When his Dad asked what he said he rolled his eyes and said, “Neh mine.” We got that loud and clear, bwaahahahaha! Liam is 7 months old and is just now rolling over. Nothing is wrong with him – he’s just, er, lazy? He does it once and thinks that’s enough. Didn’t meant to get off on that…sorry for my rambling.

    Happy Thankful Thursday to you.

  2. heidi Says:

    I lack much wisdom. Many much and more. Many times I could have used much more wisdom. 🙂

    Good TT post. 🙂

  3. Denise Says:

    Such a lovely thankful post.

  4. angela Says:

    amen..I loved this post..thanks for sharing….Our God is AWESOME..I LOVE how He teaches us and fills us with wisdom, His wisdom to help us in this journey…

  5. Rita Says:

    Oh, if God didn’t care about the little things I’m not sure we could trust Him. Loved your post….it gave me much to think about.

  6. Lynn Says:

    I absolutely loved this post and how James 1:5 was part of it. On of the best posts I have read… neat.

    http://unequalmarriage.typepad.com/my_weblog/2009/05/my-entry.html

  7. Lynn Says:

    oopie, I forgot to add this….

    I am finally getting over to your place for Thankful Thursday…. Last week. Yikes, I am a bit behind. Thank you for honoring the Lord with your Thankful heart. I will see you again this Thursday. Hugs

    PS. I forgot the computer tip last week but have a good one for this week.

  8. Amy Jane (Untangling Tales) Says:

    This has been open to “comment” on for, well, almost a week 😉

    My kids were the reverse of yours for signing– my oldest wasn’t interested in talking much till she was almost 3 (she had over 75 signs). Then shortly after she started talking she could hardly stop but wasn’t yet potty trained.

    My mom shifted her “worry focus” from “never talking” to “never being out of diapers.” I finally set the inconsistency in front of her and the next time she said, “At this rate she’ll never be out of diapers,” I responded, “Yes, just like she was never going to talk.”

    And that basically ended it.

    (I have a very sensible mom. She can be really pushy and involved. Then quit when you ask her to. My kind of combo.)

    I suppose that was to say everything is on a spectrum of normal, and if we can just relax we’ll be more content.

  9. purplemoose Says:

    Amy, that is awesome! I wish my “potty trainining pusher” understood that.
    Lynn, I totally understand! Many of my Thankful “Thursday” posts are a little, ah, delayed. 🙂

  10. Amy Jane (Untangling Tales) Says:

    Well, I have had to re-reminder with each kid, and sometimes from week to week. But at least she responds to direct requests 😉

    It helps that her mom told me a story once about a lady who gave her advice (she rejected) about my mom’s potty training, right before mom gave me very similar advice.

    “Hmmm, Gma told me someone tried to tell her the same thing about you…” It was really funny.

    Grandma *never* pushed. I wonder how she did it. ‘Cause she certainly had her opinions.


Leave a Reply

