BPS: Sun

I don’t know how many sunny days we get here in Alaska, but there aren’t many.  Often part of the day is sunny, and then the clouds roll in and it rains.   That’s ok with me (sometimes), since Alaska is beautiful in other ways.  (*Snicker* It’s Saturday morning as I’m typing this up, and it’s snowing out there people!!  Very lightly and not for very long though.)

Last summer we went camping in a town quite a drive from here. I envisioned sleeping in late, lounging around in a tent warmed by the sun, smores by the campfire.

Boy was I wrong.  It rained a lot and it was cold.  I missed the sun.

bps-sun-7-18-08b

The Bull and the baby girl calf, wrapped snugly in her blanket.

bps-sun-7-18-08a

Mama with the little one in the sling.  I love that sling!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Usually we have more success at seeing the sun when we were out of the state.

bps-sun-3-21-03

Note the shadow behind The Bull and Calf #1?  Proof that it was sunny that day.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Note that I said “usually.”  Sometimes that doesn’t work.  Like this trip to Phoenix, a rare cloudy day for them.

bps-sun-11-09-05a

Mama and the second calf.

What’s that? You are curious about the car? Oh, it’s a rental.  I had arranged for a sensible compact car–room for the baby and everyone.  Except that when I got to the (very small) rental car agency, they were out of compact cars.  So I had to make do with this. . .

bps-sun-11-09-05b

The mustang.  Zoooooooom!

No, I didn’t get any tickets on that trip, why do you ask?  🙂

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

It’s not too late, you can still link up with Debi today for Baby Picture Sunday! It’s one of the highlights of my week. . . remembering the calves when they were smaller.

3 Responses to “BPS: Sun”

  1. Leia Says:

    very cute. and nice car.

  2. debi b Says:

    Great post and pictures! I just LOVE hearing about Alaska and seeing pics of your beautiful kiddies.
    Thanks so much for playing along this week!

  3. Amy Jane (Untangling Tales) Says:

    Slings (and when they’re bigger the Ergo) are *totally* my favorite parenting tools before age-three.

    I don’t include books in the “tools” category in the same way I don’t include food. They’re too basic to list rather than assume. Kinda like diapers.


Leave a Reply

