Back to reality!

Yes, the pox is over!  Hurrah!  Hurrah!  Calf #1 started the fun, then about 10 days later (two Saturdays ago) Calf #2 was spotted.  Little Miss looked like she had spots, but they didn’t act like the boys’ chicken pox. . . but by Wednesday last she was certainly pocked.  And, despite what I’ve heard about those under age two, she had it good (which is to say, bad: lots of pox.)  The kids spent much time in the bathtub, and it really didn’t keep the boys from their usual dinosaur /matchbox car /plastic animal /train set games.
The only big difference in our day to day life was that we stayed home a lot.  We skipped church and gymnastics.  We know that not everybody wants to have the pox and decided we’d save it for ourselves.  And, quite honestly, that was fine with me.  I’m the one who would spend my vacation time at home (back when I was working full time outside of the house before children. . . a gazillion years ago it seems!  Only about a decade, though, in reality.)

So, anywho, today was our first big day out of the house.  And let me just say that I am exhausted!  Two appointments, gymnastics, lunch with The Bull, the library, and a side trip to the Golden Arches play place. . . it was a busy day and my head hurts and I’m ready for bed.  Thankfully, The Bull took the boys to church tonight so that the little Miss Calf and I have had some time to relax ourselves.

And when I got home this evening, there was good news in the inbox. . . Remember this post?  Ummm. . . . Yep.  Heidi’s random thingamajobbie picked my recipe (and this one and this one) to compete in her Blogstyle Iron Chef Challenge!!!  Wowie Kazowie!  So go over, try the recipes, than go to Heidi’s place to vote for mine. . . I mean, your favorite! :)

ironchefvoteforme

Oh, and about Aunt Mel. . .it is just endometrial cancer, stage 3.  Monday was her first day of chemotherapy and she will have eight treatments (the last is the end of August.)  So far, so good . . . she has a positive outlook on her cancer and the treatments,  God has provided for her financial needs, and her friends are rallying to take care of her.  I’m going to figure out a way to go visit her.  Please, if you wouldn’t mind praying for her I’d sure appreciate it!  Thanks!

One Response to “Back to reality!”

  1. Steph Says:

    Chicken pox… Ooooh, I (supposedly) have no immunity & 2 of my 3 have not been (& will not be) vax’ed against it…

    The Iron Chef thing sounds cool… I’ll have to check it out!!

    Hope your Aunt Mel does well with her treatments!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.