TT–Uh, Friday: Hope

It is getting harder and harder to keep up with all the things I want to do with my blog.  ARGH!  Must prioritize and downsize I fear! Or get more efficient?

Anywho, today’s Thankful “Thursday” topic is HOPE.  Which reminds me of one of my favorite verses, Hebrews 11:1, “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”  The rest of the chapter is a Who’s Who of faithful people who were certain of what they were hoping for–even when they had no idea how things would work out.

  • Noah, who built a boat in the middle of the desert.
  • Sarah, who was “enabled to bear children” despite her *ahem* advanced age.
  • Jochebed, the mother of Moses, who disobeyed the Pharaoh’s command by hiding her newborn son.  For three months!  In my mind, that’s a long time to hide a baby.
  • Moses, who chose to be associated with his people instead of the royalty of Egypt.
  • Rahab, whose infamous past did not impede her future.

Despite ginormous odds and the uncertainty of the future results, they did what was right and were remembered for their faith.

There are a few things that are on my hope list too.

  • Recovery of many who are ill.  Cancer, chicken pox, heart problems, cancer, lyme disease, cancer, lung problems, strokes, cancer, organ failure or rejection, the list goes on and on and on!  (And did I mention cancer?)
  • Salvation.  There are so, so many who currently reject the LORD.
  • Financial recovery.  The economy is in sad shape, many have lost homes, and it’s harder and harder to make ends meet.
  • Personal growth.  Week after week, I find that the things that bog me down are the same.  When will I ever get past the much and the swamps?
  • The never ending projects and school work.  Someday I will figure out how to manage the house, home school, and (only) three lively young children.  I never thought it would be so hard to get my little ducks in a row.
  • “Strength for today. . . and bright hope for tomorrow.  Great is THY Faithfulness, LORD, unto me”

Hope, to me, is pictured by April in Alaska.  Currently the ground is covered with snow, two feet deep still in some places.  But I know that the weather is warming up.  It’s warmer this week than it was last month.  I know that the snow will melt, even though it snowed again yesterday.  I know that the ground will thaw and the grass will get green again.  It happened last year, and the year before, and the year before, and . . .   It is still a long way off; and yet, it will happen sooner than I think.

Just like waiting for the springtime,waiting for the things for which we are hoping seems a long way away. It is a conscious choice for me to believe that what I don’t see in many, many situations can come to pass.  I am thankful that I have some great examples to follow!

This month, Thankful Thursday is being posted by Laurie. Link up and play along if you like!

2 Responses to “TT–Uh, Friday: Hope”

  1. Denise Says:

    Such a great post, bless you.

  2. Laurie Adams Says:

    I really enjoyed your TT post! Thank you for sharing your grateful heart with us. Certainly, even in the difficult times we are in with our economy, God still offers us hope as we trust in Him! -Blessings, Laurie


Leave a Reply

