Praying for Stellan

So, if you read my blog regularly you know that I am a fan of  “Not Me! Monday.”  I found MckMama’s lovely blog oh, I don’t know, sometime in December? and have been following since then.

Last night I thought I’d see if she had posted “Not Me” yet.  Instead, there was a little Twitter update about taking Stellan to ER that had been posted several hours before, but no update past that.  Odd. . . I wasn’t sure if it was a big problem or not.

Since I was up early this morning anyway, I figured I’d check in and see.  No news.  Nothing. That was scary to me, as MckMama is known to twitter frequently.  I went back to bed, praying, and hoping for good news in the morning.

Unfortunately, today’s updates gave more bad news.  Stellan’s heart continues to beat fast and irregular despite all the usual treatments for this sort of thing.  Problems with IVs.  Big medical words.

I don’t know where the docs will go from here.  MckMama has said that his heart can’t keep up this high rate.  Still–she continues to cling to God and know that He is in control. . . no matter what happens.

This afternoon, Calf #2 wanted to do handwriting practice for school (it is his favorite subject.)  The letter of the day is J, as in Jacket.  He wanted to name the little boy in his handwriting book Joe, since that starts with the letter J.  So I was listing off other J names: Joshua, Jacob, Jehoshaphat.  The boys thought that name was silly. Well, I just had to tell them the story of Jehoshaphat.  (This is the simplified-for-kids version, to read the whole thing, you can find it in II Chronicles chapter 20.)

Jehoshaphat was the king of Israel.  He was a good king.  One day the watchmen came and said, “King Jehoshaphat, the bad guys are coming to get us!”  And the king did something very good:  He went to ask God what to do.  And God they wouldn’t need to fight!  So King Jehoshaphat got together all the people who could sing and praise the LORD.  They went out to meet the enemy and found them all dead.  God won the battle for the Israelites. All they needed to do was to pick up the food and supplies that the enemy left behind.

This passage has always impressed me.  God wasn’t surprised about the enemy and He took care of His people in an amazing way.

I think it’s a great idea right now, for me.  I have been anxious, fearful, and worried about this little boy all day long.  I need to praise the LORD instead. God knows the outcome.  Whatever happens, He is still taking care of MckMama and her family.

Please join us in praying for little Stellan.

2 Responses to “Praying for Stellan”

  1. debi b Says:

    Thank you for allerting me to her blog. I have posted about little Stellen on my regular blog and my prayer blog.

    How right you are. We need to remember to praise God.

  2. TT: It’s Late and I’m Tired « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] being able to praise our LORD, even in the midst of trials and difficulties.  I don’t mean that the hard stuff of life […]


Leave a Reply

