Ultimate Blog Partyin’ Scripture In The Brain!

Ultimate Blog Party 2009

A quick WELCOME to all who are visiting from5 Minutes for Moms’ Ultimate Blog Party!!  Hope your stop at my blog is a fun one!

Now, If only I had balloons. . .

balloons

Ah yes! Great!  Now we’re ready to party!

So when I heard about the blog party I thought it would be FUN!  But I didn’t know what to write about.  Blog writer’s block I guess.  (Do they have a technical term for that?)

And a few days ago I thought, wouldn’t it be fun to memorize Scripture together? I’d seen it done here and here and have participated in both.

Well, sure, why not?  Yeah, what’s one more thing to put in our brains?

Well actually. . . we ARE surrounded by a lot of un-pretty things that go into our brains anyway.  Maybe we should even the score by putting some good stuff in our brains?

Thus, my challenge.  I’m calling it “Scripture in teh Brain” because . . . I couldn’t think of anything else to call it and that seemed as good a title as any.  (Sometimes I’m not so good with the putting the words together and their coming out, good thing.)

So.  Here’s what we do.  Let’s all commit to memorizing one verse, one passage of Scripture.  Something meaningful to us.  From any version of the Bible.  I’m currently working on Psalm 46, you can certainly join me if you like.  I do intend to memorize the whole chapter (11 verses) but . . . it’s gonna take me a while, friends.   Maybe until July.  Here it is, in its entirety, from the NIV:

  1. God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.
  2. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
  3. though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. Selah.
  4. There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells.
  5. God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day.
  6. Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall; he lifts his voice, the earth melts.
  7. The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. Selah.
  8. Come and see the works of the Lord, the desolations he has brought on the earth.
  9. He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth; he breaks the bow and shatters the spear, he burns the shields [chariots] with fire.
  10. “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”
  11. The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.  Selah.

See why I picked this one?  I so need this in my brain right now.  Besides, verse 7 and 11 are the same, so really there are only 10 verses to memorize.  🙂

So leave a comment and tell us what you are memorizing.  And hey, if you are one of those who has trouble memorizing and/or doesn’t want to memorize, that’s ok, just say “Hi.”  But, please consider doing this, even if you don’t usually do this kinda thing.

Oh, I’ll also give ya a few of my favorite memorization tips:

  • Write the verse down.  A lot.  This way you are seeing the verse and doing it.  Bethmoore recommends purchasing a spiral-bound set of 3×5 cards and writing each verse on a new card.  (By the way, my spell chequer wanted to change “Bethmoore” to Bethought, Bethlehem, Bethesda, or Betrothed.  I’m bewildered!)
  • Read it out loud.  This way you are seeing it and hearing it.  I have heard it said that we retain more of what we hear, see, and do than just what we see.
  • Sing it to music.  Hearing it again.
  • Print several copies on the computer (or write it 😀 ) and place them in key locations: the fridge, the bathroom mirror, the computer desk, the steering wheel. . . well maybe not the steering wheel as that might not be safe.

Thanks for joining us!  Party on, dude!

Oh yeah, forgot about the prizes. . . how could I forget? I love to win stuff.  There are lots of neat prizes available!  In the U S list, here are my top three choices:

Goat milk soap from Goat Milk Stuff (#20)

Surprise Box of Art Supplies from KV Creative Designs (#56)

Kernal Seasons Popcorn Prize Pak from Mom Maven (#95)

And if those are already taken, these ones look really neat too:  #69, #5, #11, #38, #105, #17, or #106.  Or any of the kids’ things!  Thanks!

35 Responses to “Ultimate Blog Partyin’ Scripture In The Brain!”

  1. Julie Arduini@The Surrendered Scribe Says:

    What a great idea! I read Vonnie’s blog a lot at My Backdoor Ministry and on Wed. she does a Scripture challenge and I’m so far a horrible faillure at it, as I blog about it on Wed.

    I love your ideas though, the kids sing their verses, why can’t I? Great thought.

    So glad I found you here.

    I’m working (or not working) on John 15, NIV.

  2. Nell @ Casual Friday Every Day Says:

    Awesome to meet you and get to know you. I look forward to partying with you all week! 😉

    Nell

  3. debi b Says:

    Luke 11:9
    It’s one that i love, but have never memorized.
    PS The verses you chose are just PERFECT! Just beautiful!

  4. Kristine Says:

    Psalm 34:1-14 is our family section for right now. We read it aloud before bedtime (around 4 times a week) and within about 6-8 weeks, most of it is “memorized” naturally. I like the idea about the spiral bound index cards. It seems like they might stand up on a window sill or something that way too. 🙂

  5. jodifur Says:

    I’m party hopping! Hope to see you at my party!

  6. Michele @ Frugal Granola Says:

    What a great list of memorization! I am so bad at memorizing, but I always loving giving it a try.

    Blessings,
    Michele 🙂

  7. skoots1mom Says:

    you’ll be surprised how many times your scriptures are going to be popping back up in your head…I walk to a “scripture verse” walking tape from “FirstPlace”, a christian weightloss/lifestyle program. 🙂

  8. glutenfree4goofs Says:

    “Sing it over again to me, sing it over again to me, wonderful words, wonderful words, wonderful words of life!” 🙂 That’s what I thought of when I got done reading your post, a song I heard a lot time ago! The boys and I will try to memorize this Psalm with you as well, it’s a great one! Come visit us soon!
    Jessie

  9. JamericanSpice Says:

    Nice to meet you!

    Talk about a party!

    I’m quite intrigued and am learning how to get around!

    Just stopping by from 5minutes for moms blog party!

  10. Toni Says:

    What a great post for the party. I am Toni and I am stopping by random blogs from the UBP! So glad I came across yours 🙂

  11. Mum-me Says:

    Some great tips on meorisation! I’ll have to try it out with my children. We started having a weekly memory verse last year, but as you can see from the sidebar on my blog, we got stuck in December 08. I really need to get backonto that! Have a great blog party week.

  12. Steph Says:

    Hey, found you via UBP. I love your idea & I will take the challenge. Now…what to memorize? Got it… Philippians 4:8! I can never quote it exactly as it’s written, so I will work on getting it straight this week.

    Thanks for the challenge!!

  13. Melody Says:

    Scripture memorization is such a great thing to do with kids. i still remember poems and scriptures that I learned with my family. Great idea!

  14. Rhonda Says:

    Fantastic site. Enjoy the party!

  15. Debz Says:

    I’m glsd I stopped by your blog, I am taking a course through Christian Leadership University and I’m always looking for tips and tricks to memorizing scriptures! When I first started my course I thought I would flunk for sure if I had to memorize…I find one thing that works really well is if I write it on a card and read it a few times before I fall asleep then as soon as I wake up I try to remember it without looking at the card. Plus it’s better than having the last little bit of undigested CSI on your brain before bed!

    Love your blog, glad I stopped by. Enjoy the rest of the UBP ’09. It’s so nice to meet so many nice people.
    Blessings, and stop by sometime when you get a chance!

  16. Storm Says:

    Positive thoughts are a must, I agree.

    Hi. I’m blog hoppig via the Ultimate Blog Party. Nice to meet you.

  17. Sandee Says:

    I used to teach bible study and memorized several scriptures. I still remember a few. Boy that was a fun 2 years!

  18. Baba Says:

    Hi! So nice to meet you! Not sure my mind is capable of memorizing anything at the moment, but those are very uplifting passages. Party hopping and participating too so stop in and visit.

  19. Kelly Says:

    Happy UBP!! I am blog hopping… glad I stumbled upon yours!!

  20. Irene Says:

    Hi! It is wonderful to meet you! I am a party girl from the UBP, and am having so much fun partying and meeting wonderful bloggers!

    Have a happy party week!

  21. Lisa Says:

    great idea. I will try this same Scripture. love your site. hope you will visit mine.

    Lolli

  22. Donna K Says:

    Hi,I am here visiting from UBP2009. I like your post.

  23. jenw109 Says:

    I like #10. I haven’t taken the time to just be still. With two kids it is hard to do but I know people who have way more and they find the time. You have a great blog!
    http://childhoodasthma.wordpress.com/

  24. Rachele, Abiding Branch Says:

    Hi there! I am working on a entire chapter too! Philippians 4. So necessary in my life right now! Stopped by via the UBP 2009!! Partying with scripture – there is no better reason!!
    Chel

  25. Teresa Says:

    Love your blog…so glad that I found it. Will be back soon to read more.

    Be sure and Stop by my blog for a visit. Though I am relativity new to blogging, I am loving all my new friends. I am giving away my first EVER BLOG PRIZE.
    I own a gift basket business and it is the most requested gift over the last 15 years. From the comments I have already received, appears to be something a little different and something anyone could use. I have been so touched by the comments that I have decided to give 2 boxes . They will be the $100 deluxe size. I really do want to bless people!!! I want my blog to encourage others. I have decided that giving is life at its BEST. The drawing will be Saturday!

    Teresa

  26. Tiaras & Tantrums Says:

    just out party hopping – lovely to meet your blog

  27. superfunmama Says:

    Hi, I’ve come over as part of the UBP. I have a toddler learning/fun site at http://www.superfunmama.blogspot.com. Very nice to meet you and your blog.

  28. Amy Jane (Untangling Tales) Says:

    Hey, my kids are just the opposite of yours– two girls (6 and 4) and a boy (2).

    With your reference to moose I’m curious about your region. I’m in Alaska and see moose several times a year (even living in the city). Usually from the comfort of my home. . .

    Hope you’re finding lots of fun new blogs to peruse.

  29. acupofjoy Says:

    Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

    I’m giving away Pink Champagne Shower Syrup from Jaqua Beauty…stop on over and enter! Ends April 8. Open to USA.

    Ta!

    I want to invite you to the Mommie Daze Virtual Baby Shower that I am hosting May 15 to June 8. This is an international even and there are prizes! Stop by my blog for all the details.

  30. Lindsay V Says:

    I think it’s great you’re memorizing scriptures. They help get scary or bad thoughts out of your head instantly!

  31. KV Creative Designs Says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for stoppin by my blog! I am Party Hoppin! Hope you are enjoying the UBP too!
    Artful Blessings,
    Kathryn #56

  32. TT: It’s Late and I’m Tired « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] moose have an opinion debi b on WW: Skating LessonsKV Creative Designs on Ultimate Blog Partyin’ S…Ladybird on WW: Skating LessonsLindsay V on Ultimate Blog Partyin’ S…Jonara Blu […]

  33. carma Says:

    that is a fancy balloon set up! 😉

    stopping by from UBP to say “hi” – party on 🙂
    carma

  34. TT: Sweeties « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] in the Brain This is the Scripture I am trying to memorize. Want to join me? Click here! Psalm 46 (NIV) 1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. 2 Therefore we […]


Leave a Reply

