NMM: Attack of the Killer Dust Bunnies!

notmemonday

Wednesday night The Bull and I had the  Nasty Gastrointestinal Stuff.  Don’t ask; you don’t want to know.  Thursday morning I thought Chai Tea sounded good.  The caffeine hit my empty stomach and BING! I was out of the starting gates like a . . . like a really fast horse.

I decided to clean my room.  What follows is the account of that day:

It has NOT been six months since I thoroughly cleaned and vacuumed in there.

I did NOT find killer dust bunnies behind my bedroom door!  And under the bed, and between the filing cabinet and the bookshelf!  Ugh!

I did NOT find five pairs of The Bull’s worn, torn jeans which I proceeded to save for my friend.  When I clean house  I just throw the junk out.  Except that I can NOT throw anything away, I’m a first rate pack rat.

My six year old did NOT see me putting stuff on the bed and in the hallway and ask, “Are we moving again?”  Like that’s the only time I pick up all the junk on my bedroom floor???  No, I was only cleaning the floor!

I did NOT get everything off the rug, including tipping the queen-sized bed very precariously on its side, and turn on the vaccuum. . . only to have it NOT turn on!  ARGH!!  (And The Bull did NOT return home to me begging him to save the day and fix the vacuum.  He did NOT tear the thing all apart, only to find that the problem was a broken blade on the plug.  It would have been a quick fix, except that he could NOT find a replacement plug in the garage.  So I did NOT have to wait a day and a half for him to go to Home Depot and buy a new plug and replace it.)

I did NOT go through five of those Swiffer duster thingies in dusting the room.  I did NOT dust the blinds three times and find that they were still dusty.  How are you supposed to clean those things, anyway?

As I was cleaning and dusting, I did NOT find:  sandals that the baby outgrew months ago, the remnants of my birthday candy bouquet (from October), a suitcase that has NOT been unpacked since our family trip (last September), and $67 in cash (the remainder of our garage sale change box from last August).  Although if I DID find money while cleaning, in theory, it would cause me to clean more often, right? In theory anyway?

You should NOT go see  MckMama’s place to see other Not Me’s.  Unless you want to laugh or cry or realize that hey, we are pretty much all in the same boat here! Imperfect, but that’s okay!

5 Responses to “NMM: Attack of the Killer Dust Bunnies!”

  1. Wayne Says:

    I too need to clean out my room way more than i do. I think that there are spiders in there that have taken perminent lodging.
    to funny about the kid asking if you was moving
    great not me monday

  2. nani Says:

    I logged on earlier to read your NMM post…and it wasn’t here yet…so I came back! Sorry about the pox…bleh!

  3. heidi Says:

    Dude – I haven’t cleaned our room since we moved IN 1 year ago. How sad is that?! LOL If I thought I might find money then I’d be more inclined. Ha!

  4. debi b Says:

    Oh boy! I am guessing when i finally move, i won’t be finding giant dust bunnies either 😉

  5. Bethany Says:

    O hear you on the whole bedroom thing. My kid always ask why I don’t have to clean my room. Umm, what are you supposed to say to that. Fun stuff!


Leave a Reply

