MPM: I feel like chicken tonight

meal plan monday button

So last week’s menu included a recipe for Pumpkin Soup.  Fortuitously, $5 Dinners posted a different recipe on Friday for Curried Pumpkin Soup.  So I switched.  It looked great and I thought it would be yummy, but sadly, nobody liked it!  I guess I’ll revert to our old recipe and just add a little curry paste at the table for those who like curry.  Which would be me.  🙂

Heidi does this neat thing called “Blogstyle Iron Chef.”  This month she’s got recipes using chicken breasts, so makes my job slightly easier as far as deciding “what to eat.”  One of the three randomly selected recipes will be a WINNER!! So we’ll be trying them out here and then voting over there.

Here’s what we are planning for this week:

Monday: Chicken Georgia, rice, random veggies.

Tuesday: Corned beef, cabbage, potatoes.  Yuuuummmmmm. . . just a shame we only eat this once a year!

Wednesday:  Yesterday at church the chef said he’d be making corned beef! YAY! Two nights in a row!  But, with last night’s outbreak of chicken pox . . . we’ll be having leftovers at home.

Thursday:  Borscht and bread.

Friday, Kids’ night:  Crispy Chicken, some kinda potatoes, random veggies.

Saturday: Our old standby, Spinach and Mashed Potato Casserole (adapted from this recipe.)

Sunday:  Breakfast for dinner.  I think this week we’ll do waffles and eggs and fruit.

That seemed too easy.  Did I miss something here?  I do have each day listed, right?  Anywwho, you can check out  Org Junkie if you want to know what’s on the menu around the blogosphere.

2 Responses to “MPM: I feel like chicken tonight”

  1. heidi Says:

    I wanted to try the Curried Pumpkin soup but I know no one here would eat it, fo sho. You liked it? We had the Chicken Georgia tonight, too. Rob really liked it. I had to modify mine so it was with olive oil and no cheese, but I really liked it! The kids? Eh, not so much. LOL

    You really make Borscht?? I’ve never even had that before!

  2. purplemoose Says:

    Curried Pumpkin soup: None of us really liked it. Oh well! The Chicken Georgia was ok. I like mushrooms (but not onions) and the Bull likes onions (but not mushrooms) so I kinda made two pans too! And Yes, I make borscht. But I’ve been trying out several different recipes. It’s still a work in progress.


Leave a Reply

