TT: Mel

It’s been a difficult, busy, emotional week.  Friday I received word that my sister-in-law, Mel, has cancer.  Early reports say endometrial but there is a 1 in 5 chance of ovarian as well.  Still testing to see that one, though.

Aunt Mel and her husband were the ones who took me in when I was 20 years old and not sure what to do with myself.  They helped me in so many ways I don’t even know how to start explaining it.  Suffice to say that I would not be the person I am today if not for Mel.  I am immensely thankful for her taking care of me when I was down.

Today I am also thankful for a positive, helpful friend of Mel’s.  My earliest news about this cancer was slanted towards a negative and fatalistic viewpoint.  I spoke with Mel’s friend this morning after about a week of anguish on hearing the futility of Mel’s situation.  What the friend told me is much, much more hopeful.  I shall get updates from her in the future.

I am thankful that we were able to spend some time with Mel earlier this week.  It involved being away from home (which I detest) and staying with friends (which is fun, but difficult . . . small children make messes and break things!) and trying to please many, many people (which never works . . . just keeping the kids happy and entertained at the hospital is nearly impossible.)

Which leads to another blessing in the midst of the trial:  the kind hospital volunteer Monday night who gave my girl an adorable stuffed elephant rattle and my boys coloring books and crayons, NEW crayons that were not broken (as opposed to the ones in their crayon box which are broken and peeled.)

And I am thankful for The Bull, who spent a lot of time with busy boys in the waiting room and at our friends’ house.  He definitely goes above and beyond the call of duty as a Daddy.  Oh, and did I mention that he worked his eight hour shift on Monday and then drove four hours so we could visit Mel?  Yup, he’s a keeper.

11 Responses to “TT: Mel”

  1. Denise Says:

    I am sorry to hear this sweetie, Mel will be in my prayers.

  2. debi b Says:

    I am so very sorry to hear about Mel. I really hate cancer. It is everywhere and there is not a single person i know that hasn’t had it touch their lives personally 😦
    Please try to hold on to faith. The Great Physician can do because He wants to do. Believe. Anything is possible.
    Many blessings.
    Debi

  3. carmel Says:

    Hello! God is good all the time whatever the situation may be! Lets just hold on to Him.
    God bless!

  4. heidi Says:

    I’m sorry that she has cancer. 😦 I’m sorry that you aren’t having a better week. I just prayed for ya!

  5. Back to reality! « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] and about Aunt Mel. . .it is just endometrial cancer, stage 3.  Monday was her first day of chemotherapy and she will […]

  6. TT: Nature « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] to experience spring twice.  The first time was several weeks ago; we drove a ways north to see Aunt Mel.  There was still snow in our yard, but the climate was slightly warmer as we got closer to her […]

  7. TT: Sacrifice « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] were willing to guide me along when I was searching for myself.  I’ve already talked about Aunt Mel and Uncle Ben, who sacrificed their house and privacy and time and money to give me a chance at moving on with […]

  8. TT: CLEAN! « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] ago, I asked for prayer for Aunt Mel as she had been diagnosed with stage III endometrial cancer.  Every three weeks throughout the […]

  9. TT: I Will Never Leave You « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] very comforting to me right now, right now.  No matter what might be happening in our lives, HE will never leave ME nor forsake ME.  That’s a big thing on my […]

  10. MM: Starting the Year Out Right . . . A Week Later! « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] mirror is reattached! Thanks honey! (it fell off a few weeks ago) 293~Purple bunny clock, made by Uncle Ben during a previous time of grief 294~The Bull taking care of the oil change and vaccuming of the […]

  11. It’s My Party and I’ll Cry If I Want To. . . « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] brought more sad news, that my dear sister-in-law, Mel, had endometrial cancer.  After a summer of chemo and autumn of […]


Leave a Reply

