TT: Little Things

Long long ago, in a galaxy far far away. . . so long ago that it seems sometimes that *that* life happened to someone else. . . before the children and hubby came along, I worked with a woman who suffered from adult-onset asthma.

She told the story of her very first incident, when she knew something was wrong but didn’t know what it was and could not communicate it to her husband and children.  She described what her asthma attacks felt like and the scary, panicky feeling that came from being unable to catch her breath.  It was at that time I realized how much of a blessing it is to be able to breathe freely.

At that time I was right in the middle of a great pity party.  My life was not what I wanted it to be.  I didn’t like my house, or my car, or my marital status.  My job was okay but not great.  My friends were very busy.  I was horribly, horribly lonely.  And it was spring in Alaska (which is called “breakup” because this is when the river ice breaks up) which is not the pretty time of year that it is other places: breakup is muddy and smelly and ugly and the road to my house flooded.  I had many, many things to be grumpy and complain about.

But when my coworker talked about her asthma, all I could think of was how thankful I was to be able to breathe.  Truly, it is one of the smallest blessings we have and we so often take it for granted until something major happens, like asthma.

I always remember that time when the urge to complain about life and everything consumes me.  At least I can breathe.

It sounds trite; I don’t mean it to be.  It’s a way to refocus my attention on the little positive bits of my life.  I need that every once in a while.

Okay, okay, I’ll be honest.  I need that lots of times.  Every day, practically!

9 Responses to “TT: Little Things”

  1. heidi Says:

    That was grea tto read. SOmetimes we just seem so overwhlemed by it all but when we stand back and take a look at what IT ALL is, it’s really not worth the fuss.

  2. debi b Says:

    As an asthma sufferer, I can tell you, I am truly thankful to be able to get a good deep breath of fresh air.

    PS Heidi’s words to you are brillant!

  3. saleslady371 Says:

    Thanks for this inspirational post. Aren’t pity parties the pits? May we have them less and less. Have a great thankful Thursday!

  4. Denise Says:

    Very inspiring.

  5. Kristine Says:

    Thank you for the encouragement to “count our blessings”!

  6. Grace Alone… » Blog Archive » Thankful ThursdayThe ‘Little’ Things Says:

    […] Christin71. Sarah aka Mamalotsoftots72. Colleen73. Natalie74. Doris75. Dawn’s Daily Life76. purple moose77. Esthermay @The Heart of a Pastor’s Wife78. Renee79. Kahri80. Jean Stockdale81. Chel @ […]

  7. TT: Basics « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] You moose have an opinion debi b on NMM: Fun with DVDsheidi on NMM: Fun with DVDsKhadra on NMM: Fun with DVDsdebi b on BPS: You!Grace Alone… … on TT: Little Things […]

  8. Hazel Says:

    “At least I can breathe” Indeed! I’m joining TT today. Calf # 3 is soooo adorable. Cheers from Bangkok 🙂

  9. MM: November 23 « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] been hard to write at least something in my gratitude journal.  Yes, there is always the “I’m thankful that I’m able to breathe” but some days it is hard to look past my pain.  (And “I’m thankful I can […]


Leave a Reply

