MPM: Flying by the seat of the pants

meal plan monday button

It’s Monday again.  Wow, time sure is fun when we’re having flies, doesn’t it??  (Wait a minute.  Strike that.  Reverse it.)

Normally I have the meal plan figured out in my head by the time I sit to type it up.  Not so today.  Today I’m feeling quite scatter brained after a busy, sad, memorable weekend.

Menu-speaking, we have some real treats in store this week:

Monday:   Moose meat loaf with baked potatoes and random veggies.  Requested by The Bull.  (And, as I’m writing this, it’s done and over and was enjoyed by all . . . except the boy calves, who normally love their meat.  How odd!?)

Tuesday:  Garlic moose and veggies stir fry (that I didn’t make last week because I forgot that I was out of garlic.  Oh, and the real name is Ginger Moose And Veggie Stir Fry.  I remembered the ginger at the grocery store last week, but forgot the garlic.  Go figure!  Anywho, it’s one of our favorites and usually there aren’t any left overs.)

Wednesday:  Fellowship dinner at church, which is always a pleasant surprise! (Last week was enchiladas, which made The Bull very very happy, enchiladas Tuesday and Wednesday.)

Thursday:  Hmm, let’s see, I s’pose we outta eat something on Thursday . . .  How about garlic pasta?  Yeah.  That’ll work.  With random veggies.

Friday:  We were going to have dinner with friends Friday night; however, at 2 pm today, our plan changed.  I guess we’ll be able to go to the valentine’s banquet, that will be nice.

Saturday:  Breakfast for dinner:  pancakes, eggs, and fruit.

Sunday:  Smoked salmon patties, mashed potatoes, veggies.  Easy, cheesy.

On that happy note, you can swim on over to Org Junkie’s place to catch other recipes and meal plan ideas.

6 Responses to “MPM: Flying by the seat of the pants”

  1. va mama Says:

    so, another blog!! how do you find the time??

    you have to introduce me to some of these traditions for my own blog!!!

    i am getting caught up on your life! woo hoo!!
    i miss you all so much! and i feel i am missing more and more as time goes on!

  2. heidi Says:

    Good job! I assume that The Bull hunts thus why you eat Moose so often? Do you ever have beef or elk or deer or anything?

  3. purplemoose Says:

    He loooooooves to hunt, but is not always successful. So we rely on his other hobby. 😉 No elk or deer nearby, tho’ he’d love to take a trip. And beef is so expensive here. The recipes I use were originally created for beef but I substitute moose and it works pretty nicely. Hey, I’m hoping that things look better at your house soon!

  4. debi b Says:

    WOW! Do you ever post the recipes? I would love to find out how a girl in NJ could sample moose meat?

  5. The Bull Says:

    And I’m full of it too…

  6. purplemoose Says:

    About the recipes, I mean that I use recipes that call for beef. Except that I substitute moose. I’m not sure this makes sense still. Sorry!

    So, on the meat loaf day, I just take my meatloaf recipe and make it out of ground moose rather than beef. (This week I mixed up dried garlic, worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper, eggs, bread crumbs or oatmeal, and ground moose. And I doubled the recipe and made 1 meatloaf for Monday’s dinner and 1 batch of meatballs, which I baked partly and froze for an upcoming meal.) I have linked to recipes I’ve found on the internet, but more often than not I just throw stuff together and see what works. Some days we win . . . and we just won’t talk about the other ones. 🙂


Leave a Reply

