MPM: Back for a second helping

meal plan monday button

Amazed, am I.

This will be my second week on the meal plan circuit. That’s, umm, two weeks longer than meal plans usually work for me. I’m not sure why this is working so well. Perhaps the accountability of knowing that on Monday I’m going to post and link and share with folks. Perhaps an idea from Heidisacredandprofane, to allow those eating the meals to have input in what I prepare.  (Profound, I know.)

Oh, and the haggis was a hit with 75% of the college students and about 50% of the family when we feasted last Tuesday.  I did have to skip the tatties and neeps, it was just too much to try to accomplish that day.

Anywho. Here’s what’s on the hopper for this week:

Monday:   Black bean cakes (adapted from a recipe I found here:  I’ll use a pound of beans, about half the spice, and skip the jalapenos and cocoa as the calves get kinda persnickety), rice, and random veggies.  The Bull likes the green Tabasco sauce on this (really, on everything), so he can kick up the spice for himself.

Tuesday:  Chicken enchiladas (which The Bull requested last week and has been dreaming about since then!)  I don’t have a real recipe.  I just mix together chicken, beans, corn, sour cream, shredded cheese, a can of mild diced chilies, and a splash of enchilada sauce; then roll the mixture into tortillas and place in a baking dish.  Top with the rest of the can of enchilada sauce and more shredded cheese.  Bake at 350-ish for about 30 minutes or until cooked and bubbly.

Wednesday: Dinner at church . . . not sure what’s on the menu.  If we make it this week, that is; last week one of the calves was sick so we stayed home.

Thursday:  Breakfast for dinner:  pancakes and eggs and fruit.

Friday:  Kids’ Night!  Their request:  Spaghetti.  Maybe I’ll get ambitious and make garlic bread too, the whole family loves that.

Saturday:  Garlic moose and veggies stir fry.  The recipe, ummm, you’ll have to ask Betty Crocker for it. I don’t think she’d be happy if I shared her secrets.  🙂

Sunday:  Spinach and mashed potato casserole (adapted from a recipe that The Bull found here.)  Adapted to fit what we have in the house (i.e., sometimes I substitute canned spinach or instant potatoes or yoghurt for the sour cream.)  And, the ubiquitous random veggies of course.

If you want to sample other plans and (sometimes) recipes, click on the big “Meal Plan Monday” button up there.  They’ll get you hooked up.

2 Responses to “MPM: Back for a second helping”

  1. heidi Says:

    Good job stickin’ to the plan! Not only do I have them pick a meal each week, but then they get to (read: have to) help prepare said meal. How much they help varies based on their age and abilities, but it’s never too early to learn! Ok, maybe it IS – no one needs baby drool in their dinner, but you know what I mean.

    We’re having Enchiladas, too. Sienna’s fixin ’em!

  2. purplemoose Says:

    Helping with dinner, wow, another good idea. The calves generally like helping in the kitchen, except that I get kinda bezerk when it gets messy. But I’m so with you, they need to learn to cook and clean up! Oh, here’s another interesting tidbit with the meal plans: The bigger two calves keep requesting peanut butter & jelly sandwiches, for dinner. How easy can THAT be? Imagine the look on The Bull’s face when I tell him what’s for dinner. Not a happy man. 🙂

    And. . . i thought we were thru the virus, but this am Calf #3 woke up with massive, major boogers covering her little cheek down to her chin so maybe we’re going for round #2?


Leave a Reply

