Goodbye Tuesday

Updated:  Comments are now closed for the website mentioned below.  If you’d like to leave a comment here, Debi and family will be doing the same thing: donating $1 per comment left on that post for sweet little Tuesday’s family.

I heard the news last night, but I was too sad to post it.

This morning we told the children.  Calf #2 said, “But we’ll see her again in heaven!”

For about six months we’ve prayed for this little girl’s healing, for her family’s comfort.  Today she’s resting safely in the arms of our LORD. . . and we are happy for her, but we grieve for her family’s loss.  In a small sense, we have lost her too.  We’ve never even met this girl, but praying for someone creates a special bond.

I would love to answer the “Why” question.  Why did God allow this to happen? Tuesday was such a spunky, active little girl. She was a fighter.  Her siblings, now go on without her.  Her parents too. They go from a family of six to a family of five.

Basically, I can’t answer the question.  But I know, believe a few things.

I do know that God allows us to go through hard things, and then we are able to comfort others in similar sorrow (II Corinthians 1:4.)  And I do know that He will take all the broken pieces of our lives and use them to mature us into His image (Romans 8:29.)

But losing a child. . . .? Please, LORD, wasn’t there any other way?

And I know that those who live and  believe in Him will live with Him, even though they die (John 11:26.)  At times in my life when I am grieving loved ones, this truth comforts me greatly.  My loved one is not gone forever, they are safe in a way that they could never be here on earth.  And we will be reunited again, someday.

So if you think about it, pray for this dear family over the next few weeks, months, years, as they manage life without their sweet little bird.  Stop on over to their website to leave a message.  Stop by the family’s friend’s website to leave a comment. . . they are donating $1 for each comment to the family for medical expenses.

But, mainly pray.

Posted in tuesday. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Goodbye Tuesday”

  1. It’s My Party and I’ll Cry If I Want To. . . « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] started 2009 with sad news that a little girl named Tuesday, for whom our family had been praying for several months, had […]


Leave a Reply

