TT: On Vacation!

This week I have pre-posted all my usual posts because I am not home!  We are on vacation.

YAY!!

It is a family tradition that we go camping every year for our anniversary.  We did that for our honeymoon and every year since (except in 2007 when I was pregnant and expecting a summer baby!)

We love to get out and away from home.  Alaska has some beautiful places. We have seen waterfalls and wildlife and mountains and copper mines and glaciers and all sorts of neat stuff.  I think that God took special care when He made Alaska, because we are totally surrounded by His glory here.

This year our plans were a little different.  Aunt Mel needed some help around the house.  Since Uncle Ben died (when I was pregnant with the second born calf.  It was not a fun time!) she has lived by herself.  Time has taken its toll and things have deteriorated since then.  The Bull has spent some time this week repairing the damage.

Our goal was to get the work done early in the week, then to go somewhere “exotic” (that is, somewhere in Alaska, far from home that we couldn’t normally go to!)  But we realized that tools and supplies would take up the space of our normal tents, cooler, and other camping gear.

Thankfully, a friend offered to let us use their camping gear, in their yard!  This is the first time we’ve camped in a backyard, and the first time we’ve camped in the Big City.

Not exactly remote, I know; but really this works better!  I still have internet connection.  (I was a bit panicked about not checking in on my “peeps” for a whole week!)  And camping with friends is more fun.  And a real flush toilet and hot showers every day, can’t beat that!  (Maybe we should do this every year?)

So today I am thankful for many things.  There are other people who have pitched in to help my dear sister-in-law.  For the vacation time The Bull has had from worked.  For dear, generous friends who we’ve been able to visit with this week.  For the amazing beauty of this Great Land in which we live.  For the projects coming together so well.  For the LORD who makes all things to work out for our benefit!

Don’t you want to head over to Laurie’s and link your Thankful Thursday post?

8 Responses to “TT: On Vacation!”

  1. Denise Says:

    Hope you are enjoying your vacation sweetie.

  2. Mum-me Says:

    Sounds like a great place to go camping. I have to admit, though, that in my ignorance I don’t usually associate Alaska with “Big City”

  3. debi b Says:

    I hope you have a wonderful vacation and happiest off anniversaries!

    Blessings to you this Thankful Thursday!

  4. Rita Says:

    Hope you’re getting rested and rejuvenated!

  5. Steph Says:

    Happy Anniversary & enjoy your vacation! We celebrate 15 years next week!

  6. heidi Says:

    You back yet? I wanna see pics from your big ole adventure!

  7. BPS: Good Hair Gone Wrong! « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] was pretty much constant after about 20 weeks with my secondborn.  (It was the week of my brother-in-law’s funeral, […]

  8. It’s My Party and I’ll Cry If I Want To. . . « Purple Moose Tracks Says:

    […] got an award and a button and played tag.  We went on a vacation.  And who could forget the hunting […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.